No weld: using 10x 4pc packs ?

qwerkus

10 kW
Hello,

I'm new to DIY batteries, and am particularly interested in no-weld techniques. The obvious reason would be that I don't have expensive spot welding tools, and that I'm a strong believer in recycling. Now how about using 10-13 of those cheapo 4-cell-holder in series (see attached file)

I guess some of you must have tried it, and there is a reason no one uses them to build ebike battery packs. So I would love to read those reasons. Only real drawback I could think of is stability: the cells probably don't hold very well in those. But perhaps using thin foam between the racks would increase stability to a point where they are safe to use ?

Attachments

• cell_rack.jpg
    cell_rack.jpg
    126.4 KB · Views: 872
I'm sure there are ways to keep the cells from getting knocked out of position, like zip ties. I think the main drawback is the contacts will tend to develop high resistance over time. With enough pressure on the contacts, you can exclude oxygen and have a reliable long term connection, but the required force is typically more than it takes to dent in the end of the cell. Point contacts don't need as much force, but you are then limited in how much current you can pass.

Current rating might be another reason. With thick enough contact material, this should not be a limitation, but many of the cheaper ones use thin nickel plated steel, which will start heating up before you reach the cell's actual rating.

For low current applications, like a laptop or small electronic gadget, these seem to work out fine. For higher current like a bike, not so good.

Check out this topic:
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=31&t=87434
You can get a good idea for the limitations. So far the Vruzend units seem to be working out for most people.

fechter said: