18650s -- 2200 MWh & 3200 MWh in same build pack?

55rebel

10 µW
Newbie here...
I'm hoping to build a battery pack for an e-bike using 195 2200 MWh batteries (13S15P), and 39 @ 3200 MWh (13S3P).
Q: Would this kosher? :D

Thanks

55rebel said:
Newbie here...
I'm hoping to build a battery pack for an e-bike using 195 2200 MWh batteries (13S15P), and 39 @ 3200 MWh (13S3P).
Q: Would this kosher? :D
2 separate 48v , 13S packs ?
If you connect them in series, for a 96v pack, you will only get to use the capacity of the 13s, 3p pack before you distroy them.
If you connect them in parallel you risk killing the 13s, 3p section......unless the discharge current is VERY low.
Use them as separate packs.

Thanks for the bad news Hillhater...
Guess I won't be going there then! :mrgreen:

Maybe can build in as a backup battery. Switch over to the 13s-3p pack, to get me home....maybe. :)

Yes, that would be a good solution for 48v use.
Its sometimes nice to have a small , lighweight, low capacity battery option for those short trips
2kg vs 10kg for the big pack is quite a difference in ride experience....and quick to recharge !

This thread has some confusions in it.

The first is that there aren't any 18650 cells that have 2200 ro 3200 Mega Watt hours of capacity. ;)

Probably not milli Watt hours either, as that would be a very low capacity cell.

I suspect you mean mAh, which is milli Amp hours.

The second is that paralleling a lower-capacity pack with a higher-capacity pack is a lot better idea than running them separately, as long as both of them are the same chemistry and number of cells, and are at the same state of charge when you parallel them.

If you can, parallel them at the cell-level, rather than just at the ends.

Either way it will ease the load on both packs, compared to running them separately.

If you run a small-capacity pack separately, it's a lot higher load on it, and it's a lot harder on it than if it was paralleled with the other pack.