Chargery C4012B 12S balance charger review...UGG!

ElectricGod

10 MW
A quick introduction to me:
I test software for a living. I have done a fair bit of hardware testing and firmware testing in the past. Some of that was for HP in their SAN (large hard drive storage array) division. I have an electrical engineering degree. I do volunteer testing work for PowerVelocity on the controllers, apps and telemetry modules they sell.

This is the C4012B charger: http://www.chargery.com/C4012B.asp

You can use it as a 50 volt, 1500 watt power supply or as a balance charger for 1S to 12S batteries in any chemistry. It will charge at a max of 40 amps or 1500 watts. The balance ports can be used somewhat independently. Attach a couple of 3S to one port in series and a 2S to the other port and it will charge everything. This is some cool functionality! This all sounds really impressive! As soon as I found out what it's advertised specs were, I wanted one!

This is an early Youtube video of my first impressions of the original beta charger I tried out. I was pretty pleased, but hadn't discovered all its multitudes of issues yet. I think I had used the charger for a few hours when I made this video. Yes that is the real LCD and it's really that lousy.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=umoEjxWs_ZI&t=0s&list=PLP5ztAvpP73YOFCiuzRm1DAUWoxep2mrR&index=25