Could you rate these 18650 cells for me?

ryan380golf

10 µW
Brand: Panasonic
Model: NCR18650
Capacity: 2900mAh Rated
Voltage: 3.60V Nominal
Charging: 4.20V Maximum
1925mA Standard
— mA Maximum|
| Discharging: |2.50V Cutoff
580mA Standard
5400mA Maximum|
| Description: |Gray Cell Wrapper
White Insulator Ring
18650 Form Factor|

Hi guys,

I'd like to replace (3) SLA lead batteries rated at 12v 12ah, in series, 10s4p of these lithium 18650 cells. Do you think these will work for me? It's for an Eglide skateboard. I'm worried about the low discharge of these lithiums bought off of Ebay...

I recently bought and tested some Panasonic NCR18650PF GA Cells, new. These were rated at 2900mAh, high drain hybrid, 10A and have a light green wrap and white washer. Attached are my curves.

View attachment 1Pana1thru12at5A.png

Thank you, but I'm not technical enough to understand your graph.

I think mine at 5400 or 5.4 amps max discharge per cell is about half the amps of the batts you tested. I'm just not sure if they would work in a skateboard / scooter application.

My thoughs are to build as a 10s5p.

ryan380golf said:
Hi guys,

I'd like to replace (3) SLA lead batteries rated at 12v 12ah, in series, 10s4p of these lithium 18650 cells. Do you think these will work for me? It's for an Eglide skateboard. I'm worried about the low discharge of these lithiums bought off of Ebay...

Short answer, no. Long answer maybe.

There's a few facts that would have been helpful, so I googled/derived them.

Eglide: 800w Nominal, 1500w peak, 36V battery

800w/36v = 22.2A nominal
1500w/36v = 41.7A peak
Note - the manufacturer has quoted this as output, which is either odd, or wrong. If it's odd but right, then electrical power requirements will be 20-25% higher.

By your specifications, standard max discharge is 580mA standard * 4 (parallel) = 2.32A. So if you want a long life, you cannot use these.