LiPo Charger (6S Turnigy $33 7-Amp) info for noobs

spinningmagnets

Staff member
WARNING: The default "LiPo" charge setting on this charger will end with 4.2V per cell (25.2V for a 6S pack). The "LiIo" setting will end with 4.1V per cell (24.6V for a 6S pack). LiIo is short for Lithium-Ion

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=11341

T7A80W.jpg

Edit: read this LiPo break-in thread for new batteries before you charge or discharge any NEW LiPo battery (reading is free, and it couldn't hurt, right?). Your LiPo will have more capacity and will live longer if they are "broken in" properly. Several shallow and light charge-discharge cycles before attempting full power and longest range. For a 5Ah brick, I am charging at 2A until broken in. (slightly less than 1/2-C)
http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=14&t=22949&start=0

I am a LiPo newbie, so take everything I post here with caution. I will edit-in corrections and good suggestions in the near future, as soon as they are sent to me. After the first day of use I have found changes I wished I'd made (listed below) and parts where I wish I'd payed a few dollars more for a better/bigger component. This is intended to show an affordable beginners system that has the bare minimum of the important features, while avoiding you paying for extra features that you may never use.

All the charger options below will only charge 6S or below (3.7V-22.2V), and they DO have cell-balancing, and auto-shut-off when finished. They will only charge one pack at a time, so if your research suggests that you will likely want to charge several packs at the same time, or may upgrade to 8S/10S/12S. you should investigate other upgradable charging-system options.