RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
Krakz   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 8
Joined: Apr 22 2014 3:19am

RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by Krakz » Oct 31 2019 8:58am

Dear people,
I have a RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes in the european edition. In my opinion, it has the same - bad - display, the same Bafang engine and - I think - also the same controller as the USA Bike.
But in Europe the engine is reduced to 250 watts, the throttle only helps up to 9 km/h and the top speed is only 25 km/h.

Does anyone have any idea how to get the USA settings on the bike?
And: Can you get another display? Unfortunately the normal Bafang cable is not installed. I assume that the controller is not from Bafang either.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 30352
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by amberwolf » Oct 31 2019 9:14pm

None of the Rad controllers I've seen/worked with or read about are programmable at all, they have to be replaced with a different one (along wiht matching display, etc) in order to change the behavior. :/

Some of them have a few settings that can be changed in the display with the buttons on the handlebars, but it's just stuff like wheel size, etc. The max power, speed, etc. are not available to be changed. :(

The Rad controllers I've handled are by LiShui (LS), Li Shui, with displays by KingMeter.

IIRC the one Rad bike (rover?) I tried to help someone access via the USB_serial cable and LCD cable port, and the software they were sent (or found, I don't remember), but while it did "talk" to it, it couldn't change any settings.

But you'd have to ask Radpower themselves if this is the case with your particular model.

User avatar
pat_smtih   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 18
Joined: Dec 02 2008 3:58pm
Location: 97204, USA

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by pat_smtih » Nov 08 2019 4:48pm

Bolton Bikes sells a Rad upgrade kit, just recently tested on a RadRunner:

https://boltonebikes.com/products/radrover-upgrade-kit

AHicks   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 309
Joined: Jul 24 2018 10:53am

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by AHicks » Nov 09 2019 8:14am

Bolton's kit is a straight plug and play using the Rad style connectors. I agree it would be a good solution. If you were feeling adventuresome, that same 35a KT controller and KT display (of your choice) could be sourced elsewhere for for about half - leaving you with the project of matching the necessary wiring (throttle, brakes, PAS sensor, motor). OR, you could purchase a "kit" that comes with a throttle, brake levers w/cut off switches, PAS sensor, KT controller, and KT display (LCD3 is popular). That leaves you with matching connectors everywhere but the motor, which you would need to figure out on your own. This "kit" isn't a lot more than just the controller and display, and makes a project like this pretty easy for a DIY'er.

VasilisM   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: May 03 2020 8:45am

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by VasilisM » May 03 2020 8:52am

Hi there,

was wondering if you find a solution to this. I just bought 2 radrhinos 250w and searching for a method to bypass the throttle settings and the downgrated power.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 30352
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by amberwolf » May 03 2020 9:33pm

The only fix I know of is replacing the controller and display with a set that has the features you want.

Rob_73   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 02 2020 9:26am

Re: RadRunner from Rad Power Bikes change European Settings

Post by Rob_73 » Jun 03 2020 4:43am

This is an interesting thread.

Im right now trying to upgrade a EU Rad Runner to be a little faster and more torque. I choosed to go for a plain Bafang controller + display instead, since the motor is a Bafang. A cheaper way to upgrade instead of Boltons kit. But it has not been easy (for me) and I´m not done yet. Rad Bikes has used Julet and Higo connectors, but the polarity and pins are not the same as the "Bafang standard". So I´ve created some adapters and have switched some poles in cables here and there. I think Rad Bikes has tried to create their own standard to make it complicated to to things like this... This has also been a great learing process for me. The thing is that I did not want to ruin the original cables and wiring. I want to be able to restore the bike back to original easily. Im pretty sure the hub motor on the bike is 500w with a 250w label on it. I have got this confirmed from vendors in the US and others. But not 100% sure. So with a 18A controller the bikes feel more alive. It now runs 36-40 km/h easily. I hope the motor will handle it.

But the bike upgrade project still has two issues left. I hope to get a little help here on the forum.

1. Display works fine, but the speed indication does not work, It says only about 2,5 km/h when riding. All other info is ok. I wonder if this can have something to to with hall sensor wiring? Display works on other bikes (a BBSHD). Please advice.

2. When I´m on PAS level 1,2,3 etc. (low effect) and I´m using the throttle the bike runs perfect and smooth. But if I use the pedals the controller goes crazy and pums out full effect for 1 sek, then calms down and goes back to a normal effect. Can this be something special with (the RAD Bike) PAS sensor? I thought PAS sensors was all the same all over. Or is it the same issue as above? Please advice.

All input welcome!
Attachments
IMG_0098_2.jpg
The hub motor and the strange Rad connector...
IMG_0098_2.jpg (337.42 KiB) Viewed 138 times
1_IMG_0448_2.jpg
1_IMG_0448_2.jpg (343.73 KiB) Viewed 138 times
IMG_0577_2.jpg
IMG_0577_2.jpg (244.04 KiB) Viewed 138 times
IMG_6341_2.jpg
IMG_6341_2.jpg (300.78 KiB) Viewed 138 times

Post Reply