How to get rid of throttle speed limit?

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
Vikingimike01   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 48
Joined: Mar 31 2019 4:16am

How to get rid of throttle speed limit?

Post by Vikingimike01 » Aug 16 2019 10:18am

Hey guys! I have an 5000W RisunMotor kit, the controller is an "36 MOSFET 100A"
It has a 750c display. QS205 hub.

There is an option to set the wheel size. Do I set rim, or do I set tire included? I measured, it's 74cm so like a 29" with the tire.
Without the tire, it's a 26" rim. This is my first problem because I don't know if it shows the proper speed or not.. If i set it to 29" i am almost going 45 and it says 28-30


My second problem. How do I get rid of the speed limit of 25-28 KM/h? I don't think it's programmable.. Thank you all!

Edit: So, there are some options in the display. It has 4 power modes: Eco, Standard, Power, and Maximum. There are also 4 regens for hub motor regenerative braking, same. And, I can set Pedal Assist Levels to either 3, 5, or 9. I have it at 5. I noticed, in Standard mode, if I have it at the first PAS, i'll go 24, if I have it at 5, I'll go 28. Wich is more like 40 tbh. I had a motorized bike with a legit speedometer that was mechanic. I was going about 40, so about same with ebike.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 29844
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: How to get rid of throttle speed limit?

Post by amberwolf » Aug 17 2019 6:55pm

Vikingimike01 wrote:
Aug 16 2019 10:18am
There is an option to set the wheel size. Do I set rim, or do I set tire included?
It needs to know the actual on-ground diameter, so it can count rotations along the ground. (some use circumference in millimeters to be more accurate, most just have a few preset wheel sizes).

My second problem. How do I get rid of the speed limit of 25-28 KM/h? I don't think it's programmable..
Most likely you can't.

FWIW, the power level it's at on the lower settings might simply be too low to be able to achieve a higher speed. At a higher setting it may have enough power to reach higher speeds.


You can use a simple bike speedometer (or a phone GPS app) to verify the actual speed.

You can use a wattmeter to verify the actual power amounts.


FWIW, there's not much point in including PAS levels on a 5000w (5kw) bike kit, so not sure why they'd bother. Some people do have a use for that much power and still pedalling, like me on my SB Cruiser trike, cuz I need it for traction at low speeds and high loads, but most poeple are really just riding a small motorcycle at that power level.

Vikingimike01   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 48
Joined: Mar 31 2019 4:16am

Re: How to get rid of throttle speed limit?

Post by Vikingimike01 » Aug 18 2019 2:16am

Thank you for your answer. Well, I kind of used a GPS app. I'm going 50 actually. And can go over 50. But somehow, the wheel size presets arent working. I can set in inch, or centimeters. Well, my wheel is about 75cm across with tires on. 26" rim. and when I sit on it, its about 72. It shows WAAAY too much speed if I set it in centimeters, I went lower, higher, it all shows a lot more. I am going 50, and the bike says I'm going 80 something. If I have it in inch, I can have it at 22, or 31, it will show something like 25-28-30km/h...

flat tire   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1905
Joined: Feb 26 2014 12:20am

Re: How to get rid of throttle speed limit?

Post by flat tire » Aug 18 2019 1:23pm

You have a lame controller. Possibly a lame battery too. Get rid of them and get something badass. Like 72v and ASI. More power, more torque, programmable, smoother, etc. You should be able to do more like 100 kph.

Post Reply