Fuse selection for custom eBike

I'm no electrician :)

I have two motor attach to two 52 volt battery on my solar eBike.
With both motor at maximum, I see around 2400 watts going out the battery.

I found some fuse rated 40A at 58 Volt but so far I melted 2 of those, when I go at full speed for a while.

Do you have advice on what type of fuse I should use.

I would prefer a small, light and waterproof fuse holder
but for now, I would go with a working one :)

Thank you

What melted, the fuse, or the fuse holder?

If it's the holder, you just need one with better contacts, preferably one without a spring to tension things, because if the spring heats up it loses springiness, and doesn't push as hard, so resistance increases, and spring gets even less springy, and spirals into meltdown.

The same thing happens with plastic holders where the slip-in contacts' pressure depends on the plastic--if it heats up and plastic distorts, it doesnt' contact as well and resistance increases and plastic heats up more and distorts...until meltdown.

I recommend bolt-on fuses because contact will be as good as the materials and surface area can be, and if properly installed can't vibrate loose either, unlike fuses simply slipped into holders.

I also recommend one fuse per battery, because you only have to use half the current rating for each one, and you are not stranded by a fuse failure (though you might want to limit yourself to half power if down to one battery if you do that). However, if you use full current rating per fuse, but the current is flowing thru two of them one from each battery, then each fuse only has to handle half of it, so heat generated is less, and less risk of problems.

I'd recommend rating the fuse well above what you will need to draw from the system, if it is there to protect against wiring faults.

If you're using it to protect against something else, there's probably a better solution.