Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 08 2021 11:50pm

I hooked up my CA v3 DP to a 46.8V battery pack and have a Sempu torque sensing bottom bracket set up.

I've been trying to tune the Phaserunner controller but keep getting the message "Controller is not connected" after plugging my laptop computer up to the controller via the USB to TTL cable. The software shows the USB to TTL cable is available in the serial port box as "ttyUSB". The CA cable is connected to the Phaserunner and CA3 and the motor hall cable is connected to the Phaserunner and Leafbike motor.

The controller appears to turn on when connected, showing a red dot that is visible when it is powered up. When I rotate the pedals, the CA3-DP gives an accurate speed reading based on my Leafbike motor's hall input(I have a normal magnet-read bicycle speedometer to compare it with).

Any ideas as to why it's not reading?

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 11 2021 6:13pm

I hooked a throttle up to the controller and reran the PhaserunnerSuite. That did not solve the issue.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31186
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by amberwolf » Jan 11 2021 10:55pm

I would guess that either the cable itself is bad between the USB-serial converter and the TRS plug to the PR, or that something is wrong with the PR's serial port.

The cable can be tested by connecting it's serial out to it's serial in at the TRS plug, and using a terminal program to verify all sent characters are received. (will be displayed twice on the screen depending on the mode it's set to).

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 12 2021 12:32am

Tomorrow I'm going to take a voltage reading of the hall pins and see what I get.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31186
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by amberwolf » Jan 12 2021 1:38am

The Toecutter wrote:
Jan 12 2021 12:32am
Tomorrow I'm going to take a voltage reading of the hall pins and see what I get.
I must not understand how the PR works....What will the voltage on the hall pins tell you about the serial communication? According to the Grin Tech page about the PR, they're two separate connectors....

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 13 2021 5:20pm

amberwolf wrote:
Jan 11 2021 10:55pm
I would guess that either the cable itself is bad between the USB-serial converter and the TRS plug to the PR, or that something is wrong with the PR's serial port.

The cable can be tested by connecting it's serial out to it's serial in at the TRS plug, and using a terminal program to verify all sent characters are received. (will be displayed twice on the screen depending on the mode it's set to).
The cable is a likely culprit.

I powered the CA3 DP up and plugged the TTL to USB cable into it and hooked it up to my computer. When running the Cycle Analyst Setup Utility, I tried to read the data I programmed into the CA3. The serial port I was using was "/dev/ttyUSB0". I received the following errors:

*"Unable to communicate with the Cycle Analyst in a timely manner.

Please make sure the device is properly connected.
Please cycle power to the device and try again."

*"Failed to read setup from Cycle Analyst! Please make sure you have selected the correct COM port and that your Cycle Analyst is turned on and properly connected, then try again."

The CA is powered on and gives a speed reading when I rotate the pedals based upon the motors hall effect sensors.

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 15 2021 6:58pm

I was able to get a Windows computer to read the controller and tune it. My issue was a software one.

It appears to me that the PhaserunnerSuite for Linux doesn't even work. I installed all the drivers for my TTL to USB cable and everything needed to make the PhaserunnerSuite run on my Linux machine, and it refuses to work.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 31186
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by amberwolf » Jan 16 2021 12:24am

If neither the CA setup software nor PR suite will talk to their respective devices, but the hardware itself is proven to work with a different OS, I'd guess it's more likely to be an issue with either a serial library or the driver for the cable (possible incompatibility between them?)...but I know almost nothing about linux internals, so I can't be of much more help than that. :(

But I suppose it could also be something common (probably a library) between the Linux version of the CA and PR softwares.

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 16 2021 1:02am

I did send some emails to Justin from Grin Technologies, so he might have an answer for me to share here when I hear back.

But at least I got the Phaserunner working. That is what is important.

muuankarski   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: May 17 2020 7:15am

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by muuankarski » Jan 16 2021 5:58am

Try executing as sudo

User avatar
The Toecutter   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 927
Joined: Feb 08 2015 4:02pm

Re: Phaserunner not being read by PhaserunnerSuite

Post by The Toecutter » Jan 16 2021 9:33am

I did that last week. It didn't resolve the issue.

Post Reply