Motor controller specifications

Vaibhi

1 mW
Hello good people,
I am new to the ev space and I trying to get started with them by learning about e scooters. These days I am reading about motor controllers. I was reading about a Kelly Controller and under the specifications part, it mentions "Frequency of Operation: 16.6KHz" [Link: https://kellycontroller.com/wp-content/uploads/kvd/KellyKVDNUserManualV1.12.pdf] (Page 6/39).

Could someone tell me what is this parameter for? What is it controlling?

Thanks.
Greetings.
Vaibhi.

It's simulating the sine wave signal at 16khz.

The square wave in the image.

Attachments

• sine_wave.gif
    sine_wave.gif
    5.3 KB · Views: 339
Controller is adjusting the controller output at 16kHz so there’s a measurement, calculation and update to the output every 62.5 microseconds

Higher switching frequency means higher switching losses but can at the same time give more efficient motor drive for some motors, especially low inductance motors require fast switching to keep current overshoot down.

It is a balance which frequency is the best, faster isn’t better and slower isn’t better, it’s unique to the motor/controller combination.

Comrade said:

Also: there are many ways to " skin a cat". I do believe.
1200px-Pwm.png1920px-Delta_PWM.svg.png

larsb said:
Controller is adjusting the controller output at 16kHz so there’s a measurement, calculation and update to the output every 62.5 microseconds

This is the PWM time period @ 16khz? Yes, thankyou.

Simplified, BLDC, example controller, hardware diagram.. ( Please: ignore the numbers, they are only for example of how the current moves). A good friend designed this example circuit for me.

LINK: