VESC Boost Charging guide

A-DamW

100 W
Hello everyone,

I have been perusing ES since mid-2008 or so, and have almost always been able to find a supporting example of something I wanted to implement/do/replicate.

Recently I have come up short finding working examples(other than Benjamin Vedders Github, and PowerVelocity's NextGen(customized VESC code) controller) of VESC boost charging.

Some examples:
Boost charging through windings · Issue #141 · vedderb/vesc_tool
PV NextGen FOC 100-180v 36kw max - $699

Topic goals:
Demonstrate boost charging main traction battery pack via VESC controller, using PSU through connected motor winding's.
Using generic VESC software...
Using generic VESC controller hardware...

I will be experimenting with the various VESC's and battery's I have, and posting the results to this topic.

P.S. please chime in with any info to further the cause!

Last edited:
Well oh my heck! It works!!

After messing around a couple hours on Fri-9th, no dice, I woke Sat-10th sick enough to spend all day sleeping in bed.

Feeling a bit better this morning, and having some time to think about it, I realized my thumb throttle and VESC were probably not configured correctly to command a braking current.

So I hooked up a PPM/PWM rc servo tester, configured the "Setup Input" wizard on the VESC for "PPM", with rc PPM knob calibrated in the center(So I could command a braking current), and control type "Current No Reverse With Brake"

Set "Motor Cfg" "Motor Type" to "DC"

Disconnected phase A from motor, inserted Milwaukee 18v battery, 5amp fuse, Powemeter, in series between phase A and motor lead.

Commanded a braking current, saw the powermeter jump to ~150W so I quickly dialed back to 30-40W.

Little tired now, probably all for today.

IMG_20221211_085837970.jpg

IMG_20221211_085826035.jpg

Great job on your results, A-DamW!