Controller mod

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 16 2010 2:11am

Wow you got 42A without a shunt mod, that pretty good. My watt meter maxed out at 23 amps before I modded the shunt. Since the mod I have seen a peak of 57 amps. I did notice that the stock caps could handle 60v, but I wanted to play it safe and replace all the 63v caps. I think I will keep it at 60v for know. I had to buy the caps,resistors,5 new 9ah batteries, and now a charger, so I need to get some use out of it. However,I would be interested in adding a program jack. Have you done this with your controller? I would be up for the challenge of adding it, if I knew what to buy, and where to install it. Please let me know if you have anymore info on it. :shock:

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 25 2010 12:40pm

So over the past week or so I have been preparing to program my controller to my specs. First off I wanted to install parameter designer on my computer. This was a bit trickey for me because my computer was missing the comdlg32.ocx file. So with a lot of help from Kingfish, as well as from methods, and Lyen I got it installed. Since parameter designer didn't launch right away I had to install a few things. Here are two links that Kingfish sent me to download.

VBRun60.exe installs Visual Basic 6.0 run-time files
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/192461

and...

Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 Common Controls
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

After I installed these I also had to install the comdlg32.ocx file which I got here: http://www.ascentive.com/support/new/su ... MDLG32.OCX

So parameter designer should run after you extract this file onto your computer. The next step was to order the parts to make the connection from my laptop to my controller. Here is a list of some of the parts needed thanks to Kingfish.

Parts I bought from Digikey:

22-27-2051 Molex CONN HEADER 5POS .100 VERT TIN (one for every board you want to mod!)
22-01-2051 Molex CONN HOUSING 5POS .100 W/O RAMP (one for every cable you want to make)
08-55-0102 Molex Pins CONN TERM FEMALE 22-30AWG GOLD (five for every ONE of the above; min order is 10)

Another part needed to connect the controller to my laptop is a USB to RS232 Module Based TTL which I bought here:
http://www.virtualvillage.com/usb-to-rs ... 2-010.html

So now it is just a waiting game for everything to come. I will post updates as I make progress.

User avatar
drewjet   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 821
Joined: Jan 23 2008 4:34am
Location: Orlando, FL USA

Re: Controller mod

Post by drewjet » Mar 25 2010 3:07pm

Excellent info. I hope it all works out. Once you get it all worked out I will be right behind you.

Thanks

Drew

User avatar
Lyen   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 619
Joined: Aug 17 2007 1:26am
Location: San Francisco, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Lyen » Mar 26 2010 1:44am

Hi Shortcircuit! I can sell you an USB-TTL programming cable with the removable counterpart connector(s) with built-in "SEND" button for $20 shipped to your door since you are in Walnut Creek. We are only a Bay bridge away from each other. This way, you can save your time, minimum order quantity, as well as all the hassles dealing with oversea sellers. Just let me know. :)

Regards,
Ed Lyen
shortcircuit911 wrote:So over the past week or so I have been preparing to program my controller to my specs. First off I wanted to install parameter designer on my computer. This was a bit trickey for me because my computer was missing the comdlg32.ocx file. So with a lot of help from Kingfish, as well as from methods, and Lyen I got it installed. Since parameter designer didn't launch right away I had to install a few things. Here are two links that Kingfish sent me to download.

VBRun60.exe installs Visual Basic 6.0 run-time files
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/192461

and...

Microsoft Visual Basic 6.0 Common Controls
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

After I installed these I also had to install the comdlg32.ocx file which I got here: http://www.ascentive.com/support/new/su ... MDLG32.OCX

So parameter designer should run after you extract this file onto your computer. The next step was to order the parts to make the connection from my laptop to my controller. Here is a list of some of the parts needed thanks to Kingfish.

Parts I bought from Digikey:

22-27-2051 Molex CONN HEADER 5POS .100 VERT TIN (one for every board you want to mod!)
22-01-2051 Molex CONN HOUSING 5POS .100 W/O RAMP (one for every cable you want to make)
08-55-0102 Molex Pins CONN TERM FEMALE 22-30AWG GOLD (five for every ONE of the above; min order is 10)

Another part needed to connect the controller to my laptop is a USB to RS232 Module Based TTL which I bought here:
http://www.virtualvillage.com/usb-to-rs ... 2-010.html

So now it is just a waiting game for everything to come. I will post updates as I make progress.
Last edited by Lyen on Apr 07 2010 1:31am, edited 1 time in total.
Items For Sale
Please sign up here and donate your marrow to save life.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 26 2010 2:28am

Thanks I will post more as soon as I get these parts. I just got my 60v charger so now I can use one charger instead of 2 (48v and 12v). Hey lyen I already ordered the parts, but I still may take you up on that cable. Give me about a week, and I will let you know. That's cool we are so close to each other.

User avatar
drewjet   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 821
Joined: Jan 23 2008 4:34am
Location: Orlando, FL USA

Re: Controller mod

Post by drewjet » Mar 26 2010 3:35am

Lyen,

I would be interested in one of those cables

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 27 2010 12:32am

So I came home today,and no parts. I wasn't really sure what to do with myself so I decided to thicken the traces on my controller. I have plenty of 12 and 14awg wire laying around so I said why not. It was rather simple to do. Along with the wire I added heavy amounts of solder. Before I put it back together I did a test fit to make sure the trace wouldn't hit the controller case. I noticed that a blob of solder was a bit close to the case so I flattened the spot a bit, and I also lined the inside (bottom) of the controller with gorilla tape just to be safe. I just got it all back together, and it fired right up. The wheel seems to be spinning a bit faster, but I wont know for sure until tomorrow. I won't know if this added HP until my watt meter comes in. Anyway I will keep posting as I progress.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 27 2010 9:28pm

I just got back from a test run, and top speed was 32.5mph. my bike might be faster,but I ran out of road and didn't want to blow a stop. So basically I gained .5 mph from modding the traces. I won't know how much HP I gained until I fix my watt meter, or my new one comes in. More updates coming soon

User avatar
Kingfish   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4064
Joined: Feb 03 2010 11:23am
Location: Redmond, WA-USA, Earth, Sol, Orion–Cygnus Arm, Milky Way. Age: > yesterday < tomorrow
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Kingfish » Mar 28 2010 3:13pm

Short, who did you get your 60V charger from? Just curious :)
* My 2WD Garden Wall
* Kinaye MotorSports
* Primary ride: 2WD Disc 9C 2806-equiv / Dual Lyen 12FET / 20S7P LiPo.
* Epics: Going to California: 2011 8)
* 50-mph, 101, 10k-Club. 12,527 miles-to-date, 7037 as 2WD.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed.
The hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 28 2010 3:56pm

www.tncscooters.com for $50 plus shipping. They have the best prices on scooter parts. They also have 24, 36, and 48v chargers.

User avatar
Kingfish   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4064
Joined: Feb 03 2010 11:23am
Location: Redmond, WA-USA, Earth, Sol, Orion–Cygnus Arm, Milky Way. Age: > yesterday < tomorrow
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Kingfish » Mar 28 2010 4:49pm

Short, what a cool site! Gives me lots of ideas :wink:
Thanks!
* My 2WD Garden Wall
* Kinaye MotorSports
* Primary ride: 2WD Disc 9C 2806-equiv / Dual Lyen 12FET / 20S7P LiPo.
* Epics: Going to California: 2011 8)
* 50-mph, 101, 10k-Club. 12,527 miles-to-date, 7037 as 2WD.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed.
The hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 29 2010 12:24am

Glad to help. They are really cool people, and have great prices.

User avatar
mwkeefer   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2263
Joined: Jun 14 2009 8:47am
Location: Malvern, PA USA

Re: Controller mod

Post by mwkeefer » Mar 29 2010 1:24am

shortcircuit911 wrote:ya those caps were monsters. The voltage dropped down to 53.9v which I thought was a lot but oh well. I was thinking of adding a 6v, but I don't know of a 66v charger, would I need to use a 72v? So dnmum you are the one who modded those controllers for jason huh? (The shop I work at is a dealer for him, and I asked him how he modded the controllers) I was trying to figure out how to cram all that stuff in there, and almost gave up. But, then I remembered that someone did it for jason, and that motivated me to keep trying lol.
ShortCircuit,

You could use a meanwell S-350 or a pair fo them for rapid charging to 66v... you would need to adjust the current (shunt mod perhaps) and if using 2 of them I would either do the 48v and extend the voltage lower or... run them both at identical voltages and in parallel for up to 12A current.

This is a reasonable balance every now and then will work wonders.

Mike
Regards,
Mike

{My Rides]
2010 Dahon Jack - GNG v1 - LYEN 6FET - 20/40A - 18S2P10AH - Nom:66.6v,1332w
2004 Hard Rock Pro Disc - Recumpence ms eDrive v4 - Astro 3220 4T - 12S2P16AH - HV110 - Left Side Drive - Gearing: 38mph
Nominal Peak Power @ 60 seconds: 5328 watts - Maximum Power: 49.8v, 120A, 5872w
2010 Downtube 8FH - Stock GNG v1 Stock Controller - EB809XC - 12-16S
2012 Downtube Nova 7spd - Stock GNG v2 - 12S2P10AH - EB809 - 12S-16S - 20A/30A,Nom VCC: 44.4, 888w

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Mar 29 2010 12:34pm

Thanks for the tip I will keep that in mind.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Apr 02 2010 2:14am

Well I finally got all my parts and made the connectors. I opened parameter designer, put the settings in, had the controller plugged in, hit transmit, then the momentary switch and nothing happened. There was no progress in the bar under to the transmit button. I held the momentary switch for a minute straight, and nothing happened, :( just the "transmit guage" text was blinking. Has anyone else had this problem?

nieles   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 635
Joined: Jul 14 2008 5:39pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Controller mod

Post by nieles » Apr 02 2010 4:21am

you need to set the correct COM port in the software when programming.

you can check what COM port the programmer is on.

-rightclick My Computer
-click Manage
-click device manager

then you can lookup the COM port in the tree on the right.

hope my explanation is clear? my english isn't the best

Niels

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Apr 02 2010 12:23pm

I think I had the correct port. When I had it on port 1 and 2 in the software it wouldn't let me start to transmit. But then when I changed it to com port 3 it let me push the transmit button with no pop up windows coming up. The only problem is that there was no progress. But I will try what you said, and hopefully figure this thing out. Thanks for the reply.

User avatar
TMaster   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 386
Joined: Dec 01 2009 3:12pm
Location: TX
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by TMaster » Apr 02 2010 1:42pm

You need to install this driver if you haven't already:
http://www.prolific.com.tw/support/file ... r_v110.zip

1. You have to start up the 116 software first, then plugin the USB connector with the controller hooked in. Make sure there is no power plugged into the controller.
2. Then check the ports on the device manager and see what the USB TTL is on as neiles mentioned. IF its a higher port then the software has, then delete some of the ports in use or unplug whatever is on them.
3. Go back to the software and change to the port, load the .avs or .asv file I forget what extention it is. Ask lyen for the english 9 mosfet preset file, if he hasnt gave it to you already. Make sure you have the 9 mosfet controller type selected. EB9 something.
4. Once you have your settings changed to what you want, hit the transmit button and press the momentary swtich button right immediately after and hold it down till the little bar graph is done and it says completed in the box. Thats it! It will only take like 2 or 3 seconds. Then press the stop transmit button.

If you want to program it again, you need to unplug the USB connector and plug it back in again. Leave the software running. I found that it will only let you transmit the data 1 time per plug and unplug.

The first post here will tell you what all the settings do:
http://www.endless-sphere.com/forums/vi ... =2&t=14807

If you have any questions let me know, I have programmed my controller about 10 times and figured almost everything.
Specialized HR - 75 lb's
A123 26650M1 23S4P(75.9V Nominal) 7500W Peak
Infineon Lyen 12 Fet/45amp controller heavily modded pushing 110 Amps peak
Yescom Motor with upgraged phase wires (Golden Motor/9C replica)

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Apr 03 2010 10:04pm

I have installed the drivers, and still nothing. I can even find the device in device manager. Kingfish has helped me a lot over the past couple days with this, and we can't get it. He told me that I might have a bad usb to ttl converter. So I'm not really sure whats next. I suppose I will have to buy one off lyen. Here is a pic of my controller .
Attachments
controller.jpg
my controller with the momentary switch
controller.jpg (125.03 KiB) Viewed 1432 times

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Apr 03 2010 10:10pm

My bike.
Attachments
bike.jpg
bike.jpg (185.04 KiB) Viewed 418 times

User avatar
TMaster   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 386
Joined: Dec 01 2009 3:12pm
Location: TX
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by TMaster » Apr 04 2010 12:14pm

Nice!!!

Have you tried a different computer? The desktop I had wasn't working very well, I think 1 out of 15 times it would program. Then one day it wouldn't program at all. So I got my laptop out and sure enough, the first try it programmed. Lyen told me some computers don't output enough power through the USB to be able to program correctly. I bought my cable from him.
Specialized HR - 75 lb's
A123 26650M1 23S4P(75.9V Nominal) 7500W Peak
Infineon Lyen 12 Fet/45amp controller heavily modded pushing 110 Amps peak
Yescom Motor with upgraged phase wires (Golden Motor/9C replica)

User avatar
Kingfish   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4064
Joined: Feb 03 2010 11:23am
Location: Redmond, WA-USA, Earth, Sol, Orion–Cygnus Arm, Milky Way. Age: > yesterday < tomorrow
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Kingfish » Apr 04 2010 1:47pm

Lyen told me some computers don't output enough power through the USB to be able to program correctly.
That's not the problem. ShortCircuit911 can't get his PC to see the card once it's attached to the USB cable; the PlugNPlay wizard can't initialize and we can't add the device. It is possible the device may be dead, or it could be a hardward issue on the PC with the USB bus. I can't fix it without remoting in and ... I'd rather not for multiple reasons :)

If he takes it to Lyen then they can work to resolve the issues together; hands-on.
* My 2WD Garden Wall
* Kinaye MotorSports
* Primary ride: 2WD Disc 9C 2806-equiv / Dual Lyen 12FET / 20S7P LiPo.
* Epics: Going to California: 2011 8)
* 50-mph, 101, 10k-Club. 12,527 miles-to-date, 7037 as 2WD.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed.
The hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

User avatar
Kingfish   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4064
Joined: Feb 03 2010 11:23am
Location: Redmond, WA-USA, Earth, Sol, Orion–Cygnus Arm, Milky Way. Age: > yesterday < tomorrow
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Kingfish » Apr 04 2010 2:12pm

Hmm, now you made me think of something else to try:

The USB/TTL boards that I saw advertized had a SMT chip-LED. When he plugged the device in the board wouldn’t even light up; meaning that there was no power to the board. The only way to not have power is:
  • A) Faulty USB cable (rare)
    B) Faulty USB Port (rare)
    C) Dead Device/Adapter PCB <-- possible
    D) Computer is OFF (noob)
    E) Or, PnP Service has not started <-- remotely possible
ShortCircuit911, can you try this…

Start|All Programs|Administrative Tools|Services
Scroll until you find “Plug and Play” and ensure that the service has started and that the Startup Type is set to Automatic. If the service was NOT started, then do so and try to plug the board in again. Otherwise we’re back to square-one.
* My 2WD Garden Wall
* Kinaye MotorSports
* Primary ride: 2WD Disc 9C 2806-equiv / Dual Lyen 12FET / 20S7P LiPo.
* Epics: Going to California: 2011 8)
* 50-mph, 101, 10k-Club. 12,527 miles-to-date, 7037 as 2WD.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed.
The hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

User avatar
Kingfish   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4064
Joined: Feb 03 2010 11:23am
Location: Redmond, WA-USA, Earth, Sol, Orion–Cygnus Arm, Milky Way. Age: > yesterday < tomorrow
Contact:

Re: Controller mod

Post by Kingfish » Apr 04 2010 2:36pm

By Spec...
USB ports must supply minimum power to initiate the device interface, though more power is when the hub exceeds 4 connections or the device has extra-heavy current demands - like a modem or wireless device. These tiny little USB/TTL boards should not pull anywhere close to that kind of current. Admittedly long USB cables are resistive, though I don't think this is his issue.

Voltage test:
If for some weird-arse reason his board does not have an LED then we could also test for voltage on the PCB between +V and Gnd pins. If that's dead then we go to the cable end and test it for voltage. If that's dead we test the port for voltage. If that's dead and the PnP Service has started without errors then I suggest we take the pc in for review/repair.
* My 2WD Garden Wall
* Kinaye MotorSports
* Primary ride: 2WD Disc 9C 2806-equiv / Dual Lyen 12FET / 20S7P LiPo.
* Epics: Going to California: 2011 8)
* 50-mph, 101, 10k-Club. 12,527 miles-to-date, 7037 as 2WD.

It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the beans of Java that thoughts acquire speed.
The hands acquire shakes, the shakes become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.

User avatar
shortcircuit911   100 W

100 W
Posts: 247
Joined: Feb 19 2010 1:24pm
Location: Antioch, CA

Re: Controller mod

Post by shortcircuit911 » Apr 04 2010 3:01pm

Well I went to admin tools, and the plug and play settings were fine.although my usb cale is like 12ft long there is still 4.83 v at the plug..I check the voltage on the pins of the chip and there was none..so I guess I have a bad chip..for future reference don't EVER buy from www.virtualvillage.com

Post Reply