E-bike control system w/BMS, lights, controllers, chgr, etc.

oldswamm

100 W
What I’ve been working on for the last 3 or 4 months is a whole bicycle control system. I’m concentrating on circuit/board design, as I intend to order boards out of China in mid Oct, so I’ll have time to get started on the programming while I wait on them (I think I have a pretty good idea for most of the routines). Anybody have experience with dirtypcbs.com?

Other than batt+ to the controllers, and the phase wires, the only wiring on most of my bike will be a 3 wire harness. +12 volts, G (not really ground, but labeled so), and a serial LAN.
Beyond simplified wiring, my goals are better control and integration for multiple motors, improved (safer) 3 way, improved cruise control, good voltage based regen control (Lebowski did the work for me there), antispin/traction control. I’ll elaborate more toward the end of this post. I’ll also put a zip at the very end of this post with gerbers, renders, schematics, etc.:

I (mostly) have boards designed for the following:

A handlebar display, which would also be the master controller, and would serve ALL handlebar electrics, with inputs for 4 buttons, 4 throttles, a 3way, and turn signals, and outputs for 2 separate displays.

Motor controllers using Lebowski’s controller chips.https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=72728&p=1098267

A BMS.

A battery charger.

Turn signals, head, and tail lights. I just narrowed this one, so it still needs major work. No schematics or pcb drawings yet (soon), but there’s an image with the current LED layouts.
A board for in the motors, which will put hall and temperature data on the LAN, and will also be capable of controlling fans (or a relay). I just finished the first version of this one since realizing that it couldn’t be done in through hole (to thick), and it’s probably functional, but a messy looking pc board. ;)