motor heats up and shuts down

NGU

100 µW
Hi there, I'm a newbie to this site and I was hoping to gain some advice from all the experts here. I have an ebike conversion kit that's probably 5-6 years old now. I bought it used and I know the original owner. The whole kit including the battery probably has 3,000-3,500 miles on it. My issue I'm having is that after a short ride, I'm talking a mile or less the motor shuts off and when I feel the hub it is quite warm to the touch. I can disconnect the cable from the controller to the battery and then I'm able to ride again, but once it heats up it shuts down again. Otherwise once it cools down (about 10-15 minutes) it works again. I'm contemplating getting a new kit at this point considering the age and amount of use it already has, but if I could get a cheaper fix then I'd rather due that. Any help would be appreciated.

are teh wires from motor to controller hooked up in exactly the same order they were originally?
If not there is an article on the ES wiki that will help you determine the correct combination for the hall and phase wires.

It could verywell be bad timing (halls/phases) if wiring is switched around OP, but all the info you can include about the situation/conditions it's being used and what exactly is the system (motor, controller, battery, bike) would really help. Instead of playing guessing games.

Pictures are good too esp if you have no idea what the beast is.

Pure guess, but I think maybe your motor heat is normal. Motors do get warm, If it's scalding your hand in 15min, that is not usually normal.

I think your battery is no good by now, and it can run again briefly after a rest. Battery is my guess as to the problem.

But we do need a ton more info what you have. Pictures of everything, including any labels on the battery and controller.