Do 5303's make noise?

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Patriot   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 511
Joined: Aug 07 2008 6:48pm

Do 5303's make noise?

Post by Patriot » Mar 17 2009 4:36pm

I never noticed this before until today. As I picked up my bike for a no load test, I spun up the motor slowly. It spins up smoothly, and makes its soft growling sound as usual, but at about 90% full speed and throttle, it kind of shudders for a second, and has sort of a noisy rpm up/down spot. Almost like a rough spot towards full throttle. It doesn't stop spinning, it just kind of oscillates noisily at that point on the throttle. Once at full throttle, it's fine, and doesn't do anything except scream along like the monster it is.

I don't think it's a motor problem, I haven't had this happen before, and the motor is new.

Anybody notice this on theirs?

Could it be a throttle problem?
Faith - Vigilance - Service

pizark   10 W

10 W
Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 16 2008 1:21pm

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by pizark » Mar 18 2009 12:42pm

I have a 5303. I didn't think mine made noise (well... of course it makes "noise" but I think you know what I mean.) Anyways,... One day I tied my digicam to record some videos for friends,... and on playback... NOISE! Sounds almost like a banshee wail of a formula 1 car! Okay, not really... but definitely could hear high pitched winding sounds that I'd expect to hear from an electric motor. I guess the mic on the camera is better at picking up that frequency range.

by the way... what kind battery are you running it with? I have a 48v20a ping,.. and it just ain't cuttin' it. Actually, quite the opposite,... it keeps cutting out. Motor's darn amp happy.

pizark

User avatar
Ypedal   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 12523
Joined: Dec 27 2006 12:55pm
Location: Moncton NB, Canada
Contact:

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by Ypedal » Mar 18 2009 2:12pm

You got a direct plugin CA on that controller ?
ES site status page:
http://www.ypedal.com/ES/ES.htm
----------------
http://www.ypedal.com

User avatar
steveo   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1774
Joined: Oct 06 2007 3:07pm
Location: Woodbridge, Ontario

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by steveo » Mar 18 2009 3:56pm

Hey

Unplug your c/a for a test .. see if it still does it..if its a new motor .. shouldn't be that .. .. could be a controller issue possibly

-steveo
Repair Thread
http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... =3&t=27170
Hub Monster bike ~ 24s7p A123 15.4ah/18kv Six Phase Motor/Dual Max-E Adapttos/32kw~42.91Hp/Est 140LBS
X6 Kmx Trike ~ 24s4p 20ah/X6 MHM 602/Infinion EB324 IRFB 4110/20Kw~26.82Hp/Est 120LBS ~SOLD~
Lightening rods bike ~ 18s2p 10ah/1500w Inrunner/Infinion EB312 IRFB4110/2KW~2.68hp/Est 60LBS
EV Outboard ~ 12s8p 40ah/5KW GM Inrunner/Infinion EB324 IRFB 4110/18Hp Evinrude Drive/Est 100lbs
http://www.youtube.com/user/trdfreak03

User avatar
philf   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 329
Joined: May 28 2008 5:15am
Location: Burlington, ON (Canada)

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by philf » Mar 18 2009 7:42pm

The kind of noise you describe most likely has more to do with the controlling logic (controller) than the motor itself. Nothing to be alarmed about, even if it is "displeasing" to hear. Anything that is throttled by PWM will likely resonate at certain frequencies. Think about cheap wall dimmers that scream/buzz at certain points in their operation... This is *sorta* like that, but with a few more layers...

User avatar
CGameProgrammer   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 645
Joined: Mar 30 2007 7:26pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by CGameProgrammer » Mar 19 2009 6:23pm

Why would the CycleAnalyst have anything to do with it?

User avatar
StevenR   100 W

100 W
Posts: 175
Joined: Jul 27 2008 1:14pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by StevenR » Mar 19 2009 7:20pm

My 5303 makes noise but not like that. I have a whine/hum/growl that comes on at 25 MPH under load. It is quite pronounced and annoying - I like to run about 25 MPH and I always end up at 27 to get past the noise (never 23 - why is that?).

I have gotten a hesitation when my throttle connection gets loose but that is real pronounced and doesn't go away until you fix the connector.
Bianchi Alante MTB with C'lyte 5303 Front Hub Motor / Motobecane hardtail MTB with C'lyte 5303 Rear Hub Motor
CT48V35A Controller / method monster 100A100V controller
Schwalbe 26"x2.3" Big Apples / 26" Schwalbe Ice Spiker Pros
Ping v3 48V20aH with 60A v2.5 BMS / Headway 48V10aH BMS used to balance, bypassed on discharge
Pick one from each row above

recumbent   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sep 07 2007 5:32pm
Location: Okanagan valley Canada

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by recumbent » Mar 19 2009 7:26pm

philf wrote: Anything that is throttled by PWM will likely resonate at certain frequencies...
Yeah, especially if your just holding it up in the air like you said without a load on it. However it would be interesting to know if another manufacture of controler would do the same thing, at the same RPM.
Ebike in use:
LWB Recumbent bike, Sram i-9 internal gears.
Power: 58V, 16 amp/hr, lipo batteries.
max speed: 52 km/h (30 mph),
max range: 40 km's, incl stop&go few times, minimal pedaling.
New build: Delta recumbent trike

User avatar
Rassy   10 MW

10 MW
Posts: 2025
Joined: Apr 08 2007 10:58am
Location: Eugene, Oregon USA

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by Rassy » Mar 19 2009 7:38pm

Pizark wrote:
by the way... what kind battery are you running it with? I have a 48v20a ping,.. and it just ain't cuttin' it. Actually, quite the opposite,... it keeps cutting out. Motor's darn amp happy.
You can modify the BMS by adding a little solder to the (resistor?) bridge. The BMS's will vary, and some of them cut out under 35 amps. Before you modify the BMS you could determine what conditions cause it to cut out so that you can avoid extended stress on your battery after the modification.
-Rassy-

Two Delta Trikes equipped with a Bafang BBS02
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=88536&p=1291260#p1291260

User avatar
monster   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1369
Joined: Jun 17 2007 6:07pm

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by monster » Mar 25 2009 10:15am

i have 2x 48v 12ah and it doesn't cut out unless one of the cells is low. maybe you should check your cell voltages to see if there is a weak cell.

cerewa   100 W

100 W
Posts: 159
Joined: Oct 25 2007 5:06pm

Re: Do 5303's make noise?

Post by cerewa » Mar 27 2009 9:59am

At anything near 100% of the no-load speed, pulse width modulation is normally not what limits the current to the motor, it's just I=V/R (current equals voltage divided by resistance) because the effective voltage is small (back EMF voltage being nearly as high as battery [forward] voltage).

Of course, since I don't know the resistance of your system it seems possible that you're still at your amperage limit when running full throttle, up until 90% of no load speed.

Post Reply