kt controller wire loop question

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
tolkaNo   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 29 2017 4:28am

kt controller wire loop question

Post by tolkaNo » Feb 07 2018 2:28am

So on my kt controller and probably alot of controllers out there some wires like cruise/electric lock have an extra connector on the end which loops back into itself

Is the point of the looped connector just to protect the ends of the female connector so no water gets in there? Will cruise still function if i just cut it all off?

Just asking because obviously i want to tidy/streamline as much of the wiring and connectors as possible

tolkaNo   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 29 2017 4:28am

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by tolkaNo » Feb 07 2018 11:41pm

So no one knows what the actual point of these loops are?

User avatar
Johne-bike   10 W

10 W
Posts: 79
Joined: Jul 21 2016 8:31am
Location: Nakhon Ratchasima

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by Johne-bike » Feb 08 2018 5:58am

I have 2 bikes with 2017 model KT controllers. 1 is a 45amp sinewave and the other a 25amp Square wave, but neither came with a female socket with a male jumper plug inserted. On my installation, I had to cut into one of the 5 wires to my KT LCD6 display, to fit an ignition switch.
On your set up, if it's a red wire, I would think it is ready to connect to an on/off "Ignition" switch. If you disconnect the plug, and you have no power to the throttle and response from the motor, that will be your answer.

tolkaNo   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 29 2017 4:28am

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by tolkaNo » Feb 08 2018 6:58am

Johne-bike wrote:
Feb 08 2018 5:58am
I have 2 bikes with 2017 model KT controllers. 1 is a 45amp sinewave and the other a 25amp Square wave, but neither came with a female socket with a male jumper plug inserted. On my installation, I had to cut into one of the 5 wires to my KT LCD6 display, to fit an ignition switch.
On your set up, if it's a red wire, I would think it is ready to connect to an on/off "Ignition" switch. If you disconnect the plug, and you have no power to the throttle and response from the motor, that will be your answer.
The connectors with the loop on them are cruise and electric lock, i attached a diagram i made for my controller to help me when im wiring it up
Attachments
my controller.png

User avatar
Johne-bike   10 W

10 W
Posts: 79
Joined: Jul 21 2016 8:31am
Location: Nakhon Ratchasima

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by Johne-bike » Feb 11 2018 3:18am

It's amazing to see how much variation there is in KT controllers wiring harnesses. It must be the way the vendor specifies them when they order from KT Kunteng.

My 45amp sinewave was ordered as part of a complete kit with KT-D12L PAS sensor, KT LCD6 display and Mxus 3000w Hubmotor. My controller has no separate wiring provision for electric lock or ignition.. I had to cut into one of the 5 Lcd wires to connect up an ignition switch. And the cruise control is enabled from the LCD6 3 button controller, with no wiring harness to enable or disable it with a jumper plug.

In addition, niether of my KT controllers came with a wiring harness for powering lights, despite the KT displays on both bikes having the ability to turn on lights along with the display illumination!

The 25amp KT Square wave controller on my Daughter's Fatbike was from a different supplier, but configured exactly the same!

Your KT Controller wiring gives you much more configurable options.

tolkaNo   10 W

10 W
Posts: 78
Joined: Dec 29 2017 4:28am

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by tolkaNo » Feb 11 2018 5:24am

Johne-bike wrote:
Feb 11 2018 3:18am
It's amazing to see how much variation there is in KT controllers wiring harnesses. It must be the way the vendor specifies them when they order from KT Kunteng.

My 45amp sinewave was ordered as part of a complete kit with KT-D12L PAS sensor, KT LCD6 display and Mxus 3000w Hubmotor. My controller has no separate wiring provision for electric lock or ignition.. I had to cut into one of the 5 Lcd wires to connect up an ignition switch. And the cruise control is enabled from the LCD6 3 button controller, with no wiring harness to enable or disable it with a jumper plug.

In addition, niether of my KT controllers came with a wiring harness for powering lights, despite the KT displays on both bikes having the ability to turn on lights along with the display illumination!

The 25amp KT Square wave controller on my Daughter's Fatbike was from a different supplier, but configured exactly the same!

Your KT Controller wiring gives you much more configurable options.
Thanks i got mine from conhismotor on ebay, i have to think their wiring loom is pretty good after reading that

Is that PAS sensor a lot better than the cheaper 10 pole version they sell?

User avatar
Johne-bike   10 W

10 W
Posts: 79
Joined: Jul 21 2016 8:31am
Location: Nakhon Ratchasima

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by Johne-bike » Feb 11 2018 6:17am

On my Fatbike, there is no room on the right, gear side of the crankset to fit a PAS magnetic disc wheel

Luckily, KT make a specific Left Hand version, the KT-D12L which fits perfectly onto my cranks, and with room to mount the sensor easily. It is even split into two half sections, secured together with a large steel C clip, so it's possible to fit to the axle, without even removing a crank arm.

It does also perform very well, and only requires a very small rotation of the crank to fire up the PAS.
tmp-cam--432769977.jpg
KT-D12L, left side PAS kit
tmp-cam--432769977.jpg (131.29 KiB) Viewed 444 times

User avatar
eCue   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 631
Joined: Nov 03 2017 5:14pm
Location: Vancouver Island , Canada

Re: kt controller wire loop question

Post by eCue » Feb 13 2018 10:20am

My KT controller has the wire loop as well I read about it being used to enable cruise so tried it out. When you unplug it cruise does not happen automatically instead to engage cruise it requires you to press down on displays down button.

I use it with the wire in so cruise will happen after a steady 7 second throttle period. To disengage you use a blip of the throttle or brake cut off.
Solar charge station on wheels join the Revolution

Post Reply