Help needed Motor does not run

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
CrawlingWhisper
10 mW
10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22, 2017 10:36 am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 10, 2018 11:45 am

Hello,

I'm attempting my first E-Bike build and just finished the wiring. Unfortunately not everything works right away. I hooked up all the connectors to my Infineon Controller, the switch to power the system up works, as I can tell by the CA also working. When I turn the throttle the motor does not respond. I use these components:

https://em3ev.com/shop/9-fet-irfb3077-i ... ontroller/

https://em3ev.com/shop/half-twist-throt ... ed-cruise/

Mac 10T (cassette)


I have a multimeter and this tool:

https://em3ev.com/shop/ebike-tester/


How should I proceed, to make everything work ?

Thanks
Felix

Jon NCal
1 kW
1 kW
Posts: 347
Joined: Jun 15, 2015 3:59 pm
Location: Mendocino, California

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by Jon NCal » Feb 10, 2018 1:43 pm

Are you using the CA to control the throttle, or direct throttle to controller?

User avatar
brumbrum
100 kW
100 kW
Posts: 1020
Joined: Oct 30, 2010 3:29 pm
Location: Wales U.K

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by brumbrum » Feb 10, 2018 3:18 pm

Unplug the CA and see if you get power. Then you know it is to do with the CA settings. Not much help, but an easy place to start

User avatar
CrawlingWhisper
10 mW
10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22, 2017 10:36 am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 10, 2018 7:56 pm

Are you using the CA to control the throttle, or direct throttle to controller?
It's directly pluged to the controller.
Unplug the CA and see if you get power.
Thanks, will try.

User avatar
fechter
100 GW
100 GW
Posts: 12150
Joined: Dec 31, 2006 3:23 pm
Location: California Bay Area, USA

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by fechter » Feb 10, 2018 8:41 pm

There are several things that can make it not run.

Brake switch activated
Hall sensors signal invalid
Battery voltage too low
Throttle signal bad

And probably a few more, but you can eliminate these one by one with testing. I would try unplugging the brake switch wires too, as these are not needed to make the motor run.

Minimum battery voltage is programmed into the controller.
"One test is worth a thousand opinions"

User avatar
CrawlingWhisper
10 mW
10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22, 2017 10:36 am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 11, 2018 11:37 am

Brake switch activated
Thanks, that was it. I thoughtlessly mounted the brake sensor without mounting the magnet. :D

Post Reply