Help needed Motor does not run

Get all your technical information about electric bikes here.
Post Reply
User avatar
CrawlingWhisper   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22 2017 10:36am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 10 2018 11:45am

Hello,

I'm attempting my first E-Bike build and just finished the wiring. Unfortunately not everything works right away. I hooked up all the connectors to my Infineon Controller, the switch to power the system up works, as I can tell by the CA also working. When I turn the throttle the motor does not respond. I use these components:

https://em3ev.com/shop/9-fet-irfb3077-i ... ontroller/

https://em3ev.com/shop/half-twist-throt ... ed-cruise/

Mac 10T (cassette)


I have a multimeter and this tool:

https://em3ev.com/shop/ebike-tester/


How should I proceed, to make everything work ?

Thanks
Felix

Jon NCal   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 364
Joined: Jun 15 2015 3:59pm
Location: Mendocino, California

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by Jon NCal » Feb 10 2018 1:43pm

Are you using the CA to control the throttle, or direct throttle to controller?

User avatar
brumbrum   100 kW

100 kW
Posts: 1259
Joined: Oct 30 2010 3:29pm
Location: Wales U.K

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by brumbrum » Feb 10 2018 3:18pm

Unplug the CA and see if you get power. Then you know it is to do with the CA settings. Not much help, but an easy place to start
My NYX and cromotor build
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=74615
My LMX 161 dirt bike build
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=94074

User avatar
CrawlingWhisper   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22 2017 10:36am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 10 2018 7:56pm

Are you using the CA to control the throttle, or direct throttle to controller?
It's directly pluged to the controller.
Unplug the CA and see if you get power.
Thanks, will try.

User avatar
fechter   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13075
Joined: Dec 31 2006 3:23pm
Location: California Bay Area, USA

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by fechter » Feb 10 2018 8:41pm

There are several things that can make it not run.

Brake switch activated
Hall sensors signal invalid
Battery voltage too low
Throttle signal bad

And probably a few more, but you can eliminate these one by one with testing. I would try unplugging the brake switch wires too, as these are not needed to make the motor run.

Minimum battery voltage is programmed into the controller.
"One test is worth a thousand opinions"

User avatar
CrawlingWhisper   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 26
Joined: Aug 22 2017 10:36am
Location: Germany (Cologne)

Re: Help needed Motor does not run

Post by CrawlingWhisper » Feb 11 2018 11:37am

Brake switch activated
Thanks, that was it. I thoughtlessly mounted the brake sensor without mounting the magnet. :D

Post Reply