Identifying failing controller component

Ifihadahifi

1 µW
Hi all of you enthusiastic people! I am trying to repair an e-bike (hub motor, some Chinese no brand controller) and I got a new controller. The bike came to life but died again shortly thereafter. I opened up both the old and the new, identical controller and found a component that looks burnt (see picture) and seems busted after checking with multimeter. The marking on the circuit board says "Rt1". Any ideas on what this is? Resistor, Thermistor, fuse or something else? Would like to repair instead of buying a new controller if possible.
Thanks a lot for any help you can provide. I'm a noob in this area :)

Edit: Measured the component in a very similar controller (same bike model but newer). 50 ohms resistance in a functioning one. Seems to get really hot even in this one, melting away at some nearby cables

Attachments

• IMG_20180319_103858_20180319113941857.jpg
    IMG_20180319_103858_20180319113941857.jpg
    34.9 KB · Views: 819
It's the resistor that drops the voltage going to the regulator chip (thing next to it). Seems like they should have used a larger one.

The value of this part depends on the voltage you are using. What voltage is your pack?

On higher voltage controllers, I've seen them use 2 or 3 of those in series to spread out the heat. On more expensive controllers, they use a switching regulator that does not produce much heat.

Cool! Found an even smaller 51ohm resistor and soldered it as a bridge. Controller back to life! Not for to long though I suppose. I run a 36v battery on this bike. You think I could connect maybe 4x 200 ohm resistors in parallel to achieve 50 ohm and better heat dissipation?

Only one of the bikes burns this resistor. Could it be a shortage in some sensor/throttle you think?

Thanks a lot for your help