Battery and Cradle contact melting!!

ghostboarder

1 µW
Hey guys, not brand new to the forum but seem to have lost my credentials so I started a new account. I am having an issue with my battery (pics attached, a Luna style bottle batt), and it's cradle. As you can see in the pics, a single contact seems to have softened/melted and is now not making proper contact, resulting in sporadic power delivery, turning on and off. Any ideas? Im just getting into ebikes and have only had this unit for about 6 months from a dealer in Canada. It's a mid drive Bafang, and I've had a ton of fun with it, but can't ride now! Help!

Pics are too large, so here are links to them:
Shark battery cradle https://imgur.com/a/2cxOq
Shark battery pack https://imgur.com/a/59ngz

When you keep using it with the intermittent power it makes a lot of heat shorting out and sparking, this happens with the hard case packs. You can help prevent it by using an extra strap around the battery if it's really rattling around on the bike.

You will need to replace or have those connectors replaced since it's pretty new,

that sucks,

I had the same thing happen on my shark pack. Inside the pack, all 4 terminals are live (2+ and 2–), but in the cradle only the outer two pins are wired. So I fixed it by bridging the pins on each side so I had two positive, and two negative pins to match what the pack had.

I haven't had any issues with the connection since and I haven't had to use any extra straps or anything.

Hey zro-1, that sounds great! How would i go about that? Solder a piece of wire between the relevant contacts on the cradle? If so, what gauge?

Yeah exactly.