Battery builder concerned over building a Luna Mighty Mini Clone

Lovelock

10 W
Hey, I've just sold my large 17.5aH Shark 48v battery and have been looking to start a new lighter project.

I'm going down the single speed route and re using my Q128C hub motor.

I've been eyeing up the Luna Mighty Mini which is a 52v 6aH cube battery: https://lunacycle.com/52v-mighty-mini-cube-samsung-ebike-battery-pack-30q-6ah-3-pounds/

Jimmy from Insat seems concerned about building this battery for me as 2 cells per string could result in short call life and running hot. He has said he can do it for me, but won't offer warranty.

Looking at the reviews for the mighty mini, people are using it on the BBSHD and getting 15 - 20 miles. My commute is 6miles and I can charge at work. I also only pull < 500w when riding as mainly use PAS and on a 20a controller.

Has anyone got experience with this size battery and share the concerns? I'm no technical expert, but if Luna have had success with the battery on a BBSHD I feel like I shouldn't be concerned.

He suggested another battery at 9ah and 3 cells per string but it would be 9 inches long and just wouldn't suit my project.

6ah mighty mini packs running both hd & 02 here

10-12 miles range w/02

8-10 miles average range w/hd

short 1500w (30a) hd peaks haven't reduced range after year regular use

kcuf said:
6ah mighty mini packs running both hd & 02 here

10-12 miles range w/02

8-10 miles average range w/hd

short 1500w (30a) hd peaks haven't reduced range after year regular use

Hey great reply thanks. I never pull over 1000w with my setup even at max throttle and I am peddaling mostly so as mentioned im under 500w normally.

The 30Q cell is rated for 15A each, and I use that number as the peak when choosing a pack. A small 2P pack would not get hot if drawing 20A.