Help- 48v 20ah battery not balanced.

Paco007

1 mW
Hi all,

I'm new to lithium battery technology. I bought a used V-Power 48v 20ah 13s lithium battery. The battery charger is going to green although the battery is only getting up to 48.9 Volts. I checked the 13 wires going into the bms and calculated the differences in volts. It looks like the 5th cell group is causing the bms to shutdown the charge and preventing an overcharge. I would like to know the best process to either discharge the 5th cell or possibly replace the bms (if that is causing the issue)? I tried leaving the charger plugged into the battery overnight but the battery voltage still only gets to 48.9 volts.

Those cell voltages are all over the place, I wouldn't hold out too much hope of getting it working properly. They don't go like that for no reason. You need to look more closely at that high cell group. Most likely one or more of the welds are broken or one or more cells are leaking.

the first question is "What kind of chemistry are you running? Is it Li-ion, LiFePo4, Lipo?

As stated those cells are really charged all over the place. An over night charge might not be able to balance them. It might take longer.

What I would do first is go for a short ride, like 1/2 or 1 mile to discharge some of the top end, check the voltages (write down the results for compassion later) then put it on the charger over night. In the morning, check the voltages again and again write down the voltages for comparison.

Also, some pictures could help. Just make sure they are in good focus and under 512k file size for easy posting.

:D :bolt:

Here is some pictures of the setup it is a lithium ion battery.

I am not sure how the wiring is setup under all the tape. It is in a hard box that came from the factory so it should have been protected from damage. I counted 9x13 cells wide for a total of 117 cells.