Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Discussions related to motors other than hub motors.
This includes R/C motors, botttom bracket, roller and geared drives.
Post Reply
Fedefrigo
1 µW
1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 02, 2011 3:02 pm

Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by Fedefrigo » Feb 07, 2012 12:21 pm

Hello guys
this is the first post here i am a novice and i am trying to make a Cyclone 1200w works,
i blew up the first cyclone controller cause i connected the wires in the wrong order then
now after buying an expensive Kelly KBS48101 controller i am trying to wired all the things up again :cry: !!!!
I ve already connected the motor and the 7 pin connector attached to it. Hall wires ecc.... to the motor.

Now the problem is with the throttle, the Cyclone has a 7 pin connector again but the female Kelly connector has 9 wires :?: :?: :?: SO?????

i attach few pics of the throttle wires and the female scheme of wirings.

Could you help

Thanks a Lot.. :mrgreen:

P.S. This is the forum that talks about the future... Thanks
Attachments
foto.JPG
Cyclone throttle
foto.JPG (193.13 KiB) Viewed 41 times
foto2.JPG
same
foto2.JPG (173.52 KiB) Viewed 41 times
foto3.JPG
female of Kelly's
foto3.JPG (243.34 KiB) Viewed 41 times
foto4.JPG
wiring diagram

User avatar
Willow
10 kW
10 kW
Posts: 829
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by Willow » Feb 07, 2012 8:07 pm

Dark green, Orange and Black for your throttle (on the kelly side)

you coud tie off the rest and not use them... but if you want a brake switch etc. wire those in.

Fedefrigo
1 µW
1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 02, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by Fedefrigo » Feb 08, 2012 7:39 am

Thank's man

But back to basics.... ( i am a novice i told you!)

On the Cyclone side?????

Kelly>Cyclone

Dark green>?
Orange>?
black>?


:roll: :roll: :roll:

User avatar
Willow
10 kW
10 kW
Posts: 829
Joined: Sep 06, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Tasmania

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by Willow » Feb 08, 2012 4:52 pm

I am not much more than a novice myself....

can you take the casing of the throttle apart?? Can you trace any of those wires back to other things such as micro switches etc to rule them out.??

I don't think there is too much to go wrong if you get it wired incorrectly - it just wont' work...

someone who knows more than me can chime in at this point.

evb
10 W
10 W
Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Russia

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by evb » Feb 10, 2012 8:02 am

Fedefrigo wrote: On the Cyclone side?????
1 - Voltage (48v)
2 - 5v
3 - brake
4 - ground
5 - signal

Look on Cyclone controller label, there's picture of throttle connector :)
Image

But I'm afraid to disappoint you, I tried to use Kelly controller KBS48051E with 40.000erpm (it works without breaks only no load), and I guess Cyclone 48v controller must have 100.000 erpm (read this post).

Fedefrigo
1 µW
1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Dec 02, 2011 3:02 pm

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by Fedefrigo » Feb 11, 2012 11:07 am

Thank you much for your interest but

:?: :?: :?: :?:
Now that everithing is connected nothing appens???????

there are no lights on on the cyclone throttle and the motor doesen't move at all..

Now what to do??????



I followed your suggestion to look at the cyclone connection over the old case but nothing.

evb
10 W
10 W
Posts: 87
Joined: Apr 29, 2010 2:18 am
Location: Russia

Re: Cyclone throttle to Kelly controller

Post by evb » Feb 12, 2012 12:07 am

Check the controller key switch is on (top side of last kelly pic).
Measure the voltage on Cyclone connector pins 1 and 4, 2 and 4.

Post Reply