Sn0wchyld's 12kw custom frame mid drive

sn0wchyld

100 kW
Thought I'd start a new topic to document a project I've been working on quietly on and off for a few years now... a custom frame for a mid-drive ebike. Its been through many iterations while i've tought myself how to use CAD software, some basics on bike geometry and what hardware I wanted to utilize in the build.

Heres some of the early designs, which are almost embarrassing to show now :p. These are before i got my hands on a CNC router...

file.php

file.php

2013 - 2015
Bought a cnc router, so the design changed as a result - this is the latest version form mid last year
file.php

new frame 2016 (Custom).JPG
Larger pic
new frame 2016.JPG

I actually prefer the look of the 2015 version, it looks cleaner and leaner, but I built it with little thought to the actual practicality of building it, and how it would perform, hence the redesign. the 2016 has far more thought given to making sure everything fits with ample room, and that its all 90% buildable with tools and skills i have right now. Most of the designs were built with John's mini monster in mind, though the Revolt RV120pro and 160s have been considered too, as well as a few others.

the current version has been made with a few criteria in mind:
Predominantly, or entirely weld-less frame
This is mainly to facilitate changes i'll probably want to make after riding it, as many parts will be transferable to a new frame, and making small tweaks to geometry wont require construction of an entirely new frame. I'll probably make a welded frame once I have some welding skills and have buit a frame or two to come to a design im happy with.

2 speed drive for both pedals and motor
I like 2 styles of riding - slow, technical trials like riding and also flying down trails. a 2 speed means I can crawl up steep terain with silly ammounts of torque, without ever stressing the controller or motor, while still enabling a good top speed.