New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Discussions related to motors other than hub motors.
This includes R/C motors, botttom bracket, roller and geared drives.
mscoot   10 W

10 W
Posts: 67
Joined: May 01 2016 11:46am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by mscoot » Nov 04 2019 7:34am

casainho wrote:
Nov 03 2019 7:09am

I am just waiting to be a father again and then have a reason to justify buy a Bullitt cargo bike like yours and also put TSDZ2 in it!!

Go to the wiki and read it, the information there is much more structured. Also go to the shops point there that sell TSDZ2 and displays with our OpenSource already installed, they have very good documentation on what are the advanced features, and trust them as this shops are runs by very experienced guys and they know what they say.

Good luck and enjoy riding your bicycles :-)
Congratulations! :) The Bullitt is a nice bike, but it is a little small if you need to regularily carry to kids in the cargo box. You might also find it tricky to install the TSDZ2 on a Bullitt. Older frames (like mine) have slightly different welds around the bottom bracket area that allow you to install it if you grind away a little on the tsdz2 motor casings. I posted about this way back in 2016 when I did the install. I think the Bullitt frame has had some subtle changes to make it stiffer and to reinforce it. The results are more fat welds around that area.

I've read through the wiki and it is really informative. However, there are still a few things I'm wondering about:
How do I keep the firmware updated or change certain settings if I don't have a PC (only Apple computers here)? Can this be done over bluetooth with and android phone if I order the SW102 display?

Is the temperature sensor install really plug-and-play? As in: stick it on the motor, connect it to the new controller I'll be ordering and off I go?

casainho   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3725
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Nov 04 2019 8:41am

mscoot wrote:
Nov 04 2019 7:34am
I've read through the wiki and it is really informative. However, there are still a few things I'm wondering about:
How do I keep the firmware updated or change certain settings if I don't have a PC (only Apple computers here)? Can this be done over bluetooth with and android phone if I order the SW102 display?
I own a PC but running Linux, so, I need to follow specific instructions. For Windows will be other instructions. For MAC also others. So, if no one documented yet the process on MAC, do it for yourself and then share here or on the wiki, for the next ones.
mscoot wrote:
Nov 04 2019 7:34am
Is the temperature sensor install really plug-and-play? As in: stick it on the motor, connect it to the new controller I'll be ordering and off I go?
Follow the wiki guide on How to install motor temperature sensor: https://github.com/OpenSource-EBike-fir ... ure-sensor
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and displays (Bafang 850C color, SW102 Bluetooth and KT-LCD3).

If you like my work, please consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

phm2000   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 27 2019 10:12am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by phm2000 » Nov 04 2019 2:01pm

Hi

I should change my torque sensor.
Should I hit with hammer on axis to enter it or not (it's hard with hand) ?
Attachments
torque sensor.JPG
torque sensor.JPG (27.07 KiB) Viewed 1577 times
BBS02 and TSDZ2 user :D

andrea_104kg   100 W

100 W
Posts: 157
Joined: Mar 05 2018 5:51pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by andrea_104kg » Nov 04 2019 3:40pm

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000121 ... b201603_52

this is it a torque replacemente suitable for tsdz2?

casainho   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3725
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Nov 04 2019 4:51pm

phm2000 wrote:
Nov 04 2019 2:01pm
Hi

I should change my torque sensor.
Should I hit with hammer on axis to enter it or not (it's hard with hand) ?
Yes, I do hit with the hammer but very slow and making sure the path is clear.
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and displays (Bafang 850C color, SW102 Bluetooth and KT-LCD3).

If you like my work, please consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

casainho   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3725
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Nov 04 2019 4:53pm

andrea_104kg wrote:
Nov 04 2019 3:40pm
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000121 ... b201603_52

this is it a torque replacemente suitable for tsdz2?
That is just one coil, it is not the biggest part of the torque sensor. That coil and wires are very fragile - very nice to be able to buy them at unit!! That is why I like a lot TSDZ2, the repair parts are very cheap!!!!!!
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and displays (Bafang 850C color, SW102 Bluetooth and KT-LCD3).

If you like my work, please consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

raven4is   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 04 2019 5:25am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by raven4is » Nov 05 2019 6:09am

Hello,
I just bought a tsdz2 kit,
had some problems with chainline, for now grinding the housing got my chain line to 53mm,

Can somebody tell me if i can find the crank arm (righ one) with 0 Offset ?
But shipping to UK or Europe ?

The bafan crank arm has 0mm offset ?

https://www.electrifybike.com/store/p12 ... ranks.html#/

Thanks!
Still trying to get best fit before getting OpenSource Firmware to set :)

phm2000   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 27 2019 10:12am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by phm2000 » Nov 05 2019 6:23am

casainho wrote:
Nov 04 2019 4:51pm
phm2000 wrote:
Nov 04 2019 2:01pm
Hi

I should change my torque sensor.
Should I hit with hammer on axis to enter it or not (it's hard with hand) ?
Yes, I do hit with the hammer but very slow and making sure the path is clear.
Thanks, I'll try it
BBS02 and TSDZ2 user :D

phm2000   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 27 2019 10:12am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by phm2000 » Nov 05 2019 6:30am

raven4is wrote:
Nov 05 2019 6:09am
Hello,
I just bought a tsdz2 kit,
had some problems with chainline, for now grinding the housing got my chain line to 53mm,

Can somebody tell me if i can find the crank arm (righ one) with 0 Offset ?
But shipping to UK or Europe ?

The bafan crank arm has 0mm offset ?

https://www.electrifybike.com/store/p12 ... ranks.html#/

Thanks!
Still trying to get best fit before getting OpenSource Firmware to set :)
The Bafang crank arms have a small offset, but not 0, I'm loocking for that too.
I'm using tsdz2 left crank arm and bafang right.
Are there crankarms with smaller offset than Bafang ?
I saw that but I don't know if it's better than bafang or not.
http://www.shop.future-bike.it/futurebi ... ve-torque/

Ideal should be, bafang left and 0 offset right
BBS02 and TSDZ2 user :D

raven4is   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 04 2019 5:25am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by raven4is » Nov 05 2019 7:43am

phm2000 wrote:
Nov 05 2019 6:30am
raven4is wrote:
Nov 05 2019 6:09am
Hello,
I just bought a tsdz2 kit,
had some problems with chainline, for now grinding the housing got my chain line to 53mm,

Can somebody tell me if i can find the crank arm (righ one) with 0 Offset ?
But shipping to UK or Europe ?

The bafan crank arm has 0mm offset ?

https://www.electrifybike.com/store/p12 ... ranks.html#/

Thanks!
Still trying to get best fit before getting OpenSource Firmware to set :)
The Bafang crank arms have a small offset, but not 0, I'm loocking for that too.
I'm using tsdz2 left crank arm and bafang right.
Are there crankarms with smaller offset than Bafang ?
I saw that but I don't know if it's better than bafang or not.
http://www.shop.future-bike.it/futurebi ... ve-torque/

Ideal should be, bafang left and 0 offset right
I am looking if i find 0 offset i will write here, thinking in writing a page with instruction and checks before buying witch parts and what to check for good fit.

I just measured a bit the difference, on my setup is already 2,5 mm to the right becasue of the frame hitting the case
but now from crank arm to frame inside i have
left : 15mm
right 44mm

so if the crank arm in the link you just sent is 20mm less it would be 15 - 24 mm .. in perfect fit of motor would end up 17,5 left - 21,5mm right that would be more than perfect, i will check about delivery cost and i will update

50 euro with shipping,
but searching i found this

https://www.amazon.com/BAFANG-Electric- ... th=1&psc=1

an in description is this i think is shipped from China
Product description
This is a replacement straight crankarm (no offset) that is the same as what is shipped with the BBS01 & BBS02 drive units
it seems its diamond tapered, so it seems like the right one, as it was reffered. the bafang has 0 or better told 5mm :))
I will order as is cheaper with expres shipping is Romania is 28 usd only right side crank arm.
Last edited by raven4is on Nov 05 2019 6:41pm, edited 2 times in total.

ImpulsePurchase   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 04 2017 9:58am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by ImpulsePurchase » Nov 05 2019 10:33am

phm2000 wrote:
Nov 04 2019 2:01pm
Hi

I should change my torque sensor.
Should I hit with hammer on axis to enter it or not (it's hard with hand) ?
Hitting with a hammer isn't a problem. I would remove the pedal shaft first though. There is a roller bearing in the centre of the housing that the torque sensor fits into (and spins on) and it is this that has a tight fit. If you remove the pedal shaft you can see how far onto the bearing you are so you can get a good fit. Its worth putting a little extra grease onto the bearing beforehand too.

Ideally you would use a press to push it in but I didn't have one big enough so used a hammer. Try not to directly strike the torque sensor - use a bit of wood or something to spread the impact a little.

Waynemarlow   100 W

100 W
Posts: 273
Joined: Jul 09 2016 7:22am
Location: Bucks, England

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Waynemarlow » Nov 06 2019 10:44am

Just wiring up a harness for a bike and long term plan is to fit the SW102 if the KT-LCD3 display eventually reaches its maturity date. Now the KT-LCD3 we have received from PSW Power has a connector which looks the same connector as the Bafung SW102. Does anyone know if the wiring pins are the same as that would be just too convenient, unplug the LCD3 and fit the SW102 ?

phm2000   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 27 2019 10:12am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by phm2000 » Nov 06 2019 10:49am

ImpulsePurchase wrote:
Nov 05 2019 10:33am
phm2000 wrote:
Nov 04 2019 2:01pm
Hi

I should change my torque sensor.
Should I hit with hammer on axis to enter it or not (it's hard with hand) ?
Hitting with a hammer isn't a problem. I would remove the pedal shaft first though. There is a roller bearing in the centre of the housing that the torque sensor fits into (and spins on) and it is this that has a tight fit. If you remove the pedal shaft you can see how far onto the bearing you are so you can get a good fit. Its worth putting a little extra grease onto the bearing beforehand too.

Ideally you would use a press to push it in but I didn't have one big enough so used a hammer. Try not to directly strike the torque sensor - use a bit of wood or something to spread the impact a little.
I succeed in, I heat inside motor with an air dryer and then I put torque sensor without difficulty
BBS02 and TSDZ2 user :D

jimmyfergus   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 48
Joined: Jul 17 2018 4:19pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by jimmyfergus » Nov 06 2019 11:51am

Waynemarlow wrote:
Nov 06 2019 10:44am
Now the KT-LCD3 we have received from PSW Power has a connector which looks the same connector as the Bafung SW102. Does anyone know if the wiring pins are the same as that would be just too convenient, unplug the LCD3 and fit the SW102 ?
Sadly no - different wiring.

Nick2   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: May 29 2019 4:31pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Nick2 » Nov 06 2019 4:31pm

Regarding the crank offset, I was also looking at it, found in my garage one old left crank with zero offset. Then I discussed it with the bike mechanic, he told me that he can convert it to the right crank (basically drill out the left thread and put a new bushing with the right threading). Then I measured It against the original Tongsheng crank, the difference is 8mm only, so I concluded it is not worth the effort. Also there are different types and shapes of pedals available, so I bought the narrowest pair that I could find. I believe that alone reduced the Q factor by 15 - 20 mm.

mctubster   100 W

100 W
Posts: 210
Joined: Feb 26 2018 6:21am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by mctubster » Nov 06 2019 10:18pm

Nick2 wrote:
Nov 06 2019 4:31pm
Regarding the crank offset, I was also looking at it, found in my garage one old left crank with zero offset. Then I discussed it with the bike mechanic, he told me that he can convert it to the right crank (basically drill out the left thread and put a new bushing with the right threading). Then I measured It against the original Tongsheng crank, the difference is 8mm only, so I concluded it is not worth the effort. Also there are different types and shapes of pedals available, so I bought the narrowest pair that I could find. I believe that alone reduced the Q factor by 15 - 20 mm.
From an earlier post I made

I have been obsessing over Q Factor for some time now. I bought some replacement cranks and measured against the bundled TSDZ2 cranks. Here are the results for my bike with bottom bracket width 70mm.

Original TSDZ2 crank arms (edited to make clearer)
206mm (offset 26mm to the right)

Shimano crank arm drive side (Shimano STePS FC-E6000) (kept original TSDZ2 crank arm non drive side to decrease the offset)
199mm (offset 19mm to the right)

Bafang straight crank arm drive side (AC08-2) (kept original TSDZ2 crank arm non drive side to decrease the offset)
193mm (offset 13mm to the right)

famichiki   1 W

1 W
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 12 2019 9:00am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by famichiki » Nov 08 2019 7:09pm

eyebyesickle wrote:
Nov 03 2019 11:16am
famichiki wrote:
Nov 02 2019 9:35pm
I have a 48V motor and just bought a 52V battery and intend to use the OpenSource firmware, but first I want to try it out with the factory firmware for comparison.

...

Also they seem to only have one version of the 52V factory firmware for download, but should there be different versions for throttle/non-throttle?
The 52v profile works with or without a throttle, on 6 pin or 8 pin systems, FYI
Do you know if it's ok to perform the temperature sensor modification while still running the factory firmware? In preparation for running the OSF later. Or is that going to mess with the throttle input? I have the 8 pin system.

obcd   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 49
Joined: Jul 16 2019 3:45pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by obcd » Nov 09 2019 8:36am

No, it's not ok.

It will be seen as a throttle signal. The temperature sensor outputs a voltage equivalent to the temperature. A throttle outputs a voltage depending upon it's position.

Maybe, if the throttle input could be disabled on the factory firmware, it would be ok. No idea if that's possible.

User avatar
eyebyesickle   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 694
Joined: Apr 07 2015 9:28pm
Location: Nashville

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by eyebyesickle » Nov 09 2019 12:01pm

famichiki wrote:
Nov 08 2019 7:09pm
eyebyesickle wrote:
Nov 03 2019 11:16am
famichiki wrote:
Nov 02 2019 9:35pm
I have a 48V motor and just bought a 52V battery and intend to use the OpenSource firmware, but first I want to try it out with the factory firmware for comparison.

...

Also they seem to only have one version of the 52V factory firmware for download, but should there be different versions for throttle/non-throttle?
The 52v profile works with or without a throttle, on 6 pin or 8 pin systems, FYI
Do you know if it's ok to perform the temperature sensor modification while still running the factory firmware? In preparation for running the OSF later. Or is that going to mess with the throttle input? I have the 8 pin system.
I only connect the temp sensor with mini jst connectors so you can remove it as needed, so I say you absolutely can prepare ahead of time, just do it with a connector and leave the connector unplugged so it won't mess with the throttle signal...
Attachments
Screenshot_20191109-105841.png
Screenshot_20191109-105841.png (335.3 KiB) Viewed 1056 times

Pingu_3D   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 05 2019 2:30am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Pingu_3D » Nov 10 2019 2:22am

TSDZ2 + LCD3 + v0.20.1 beta, 36v motor with 48v battery, ridden PAS mode and eMTB and seems to work well

But I couldn't get my speed sensor to work, tested at multiple distances from the magnet so I'm pretty sure it's faulty.

I would prefer to remove the faulty speed sensor because I use a gps for speed, trip etc. but can anyone tell me if the firmware needs this value to perform any essential calculations other than populating the speed/trip fields? Will my experience be compromised if I don't bother contacting PSW Power for a replacement?

casainho   1.21 GW

1.21 GW
Posts: 3725
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Nov 10 2019 2:50am

Pingu_3D wrote:
Nov 10 2019 2:22am
TSDZ2 + LCD3 + v0.20.1 beta, 36v motor with 48v battery, ridden PAS mode and eMTB and seems to work well

But I couldn't get my speed sensor to work, tested at multiple distances from the magnet so I'm pretty sure it's faulty.

I would prefer to remove the faulty speed sensor because I use a gps for speed, trip etc. but can anyone tell me if the firmware needs this value to perform any essential calculations other than populating the speed/trip fields? Will my experience be compromised if I don't bother contacting PSW Power for a replacement?
I wish to develop a feature to disable the speed sensor so user can keep riding if it fails - as it is easy for the magnet to fail if doing MTB and a stick get on the wheel.

I don't know how firmware behaves currently.
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and displays (Bafang 850C color, SW102 Bluetooth and KT-LCD3).

If you like my work, please consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

LeftCoastNurd   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Oct 23 2019 1:24am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by LeftCoastNurd » Nov 10 2019 3:16am

Pingu_3D wrote:
Nov 10 2019 2:22am
TSDZ2 + LCD3 + v0.20.1 beta, 36v motor with 48v battery, ridden PAS mode and eMTB and seems to work well

But I couldn't get my speed sensor to work, tested at multiple distances from the magnet so I'm pretty sure it's faulty.

I would prefer to remove the faulty speed sensor because I use a gps for speed, trip etc. but can anyone tell me if the firmware needs this value to perform any essential calculations other than populating the speed/trip fields? Will my experience be compromised if I don't bother contacting PSW Power for a replacement?
when my magnet got knocked askew, the TSDZ2 behaved totally irrationally, with erratic power. put it back in the right place, and it started working smoothly again. I was running the stock firmware

ImpulsePurchase   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Jul 04 2017 9:58am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by ImpulsePurchase » Nov 10 2019 4:53am

I remember someone asking this question before but can't remember if there was a reply.

Does anyone know the specs or a supplier of the springs for the torque sensor?

My motor stopped giving any power(I only have about 20 miles on it so far). Something meant that the bottom sheet of the torque sensor rotated, which pulled the plug from the controller and then must have wrapped around the springs so they are all somewhat out of shape.

Do you get springs with a replacement torque sensor?

Thanks

phm2000   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Oct 27 2019 10:12am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by phm2000 » Nov 10 2019 7:14am

ImpulsePurchase wrote:
Nov 10 2019 4:53am
I remember someone asking this question before but can't remember if there was a reply.

Does anyone know the specs or a supplier of the springs for the torque sensor?

My motor stopped giving any power(I only have about 20 miles on it so far). Something meant that the bottom sheet of the torque sensor rotated, which pulled the plug from the controller and then must have wrapped around the springs so they are all somewhat out of shape.

Do you get springs with a replacement torque sensor?

Thanks
I add the same trouble after 20km with new motor, I had the chance the seller sent me torque sensor with springs. I don't know where you can find only springs. Sorry
BBS02 and TSDZ2 user :D

esteel   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 11 2019 2:33pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by esteel » Nov 11 2019 4:11pm

Hello, I’m using the TSDZ2 with KT-LCD3 Display, and am wondering if it can be upgraded to KT-LCD8 with the same firmware?

Post Reply