New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Discussions related to motors other than hub motors.
This includes R/C motors, botttom bracket, roller and geared drives.
Diva   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 22
Joined: Sep 03 2014 9:20am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Diva » Oct 05 2018 5:52am

Hi guys!

Do you have a solution to get a 48 (or 46 or...) teeth chainwheel with an offset to get the same Q factor?

Thanks :)

GeoffS   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 8
Joined: Oct 08 2017 11:40pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by GeoffS » Oct 05 2018 6:15am

Greetings :)
Would people with TSZD2 experience re the speed sensors please help. I have one that I suspect is stuffed. Is there a known test method?
An answer from another thread has me thinking that grounding the orange wire and looking for a pulse (on magnet passing) on tyhe white wire would be the go.....
.
Should I earth (to a Li-Ion battery -ve) the orange, put the multi-meter on low volts and attach the red probe to the + of the battery, the black probe to the "white" wire and flash the magnet over the sensor to check???
Trying to get my head around this (and the issue may well be that the sensor is stuffed)

casainho   100 MW

100 MW
Posts: 2661
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Oct 05 2018 6:59am

thineight wrote:
Oct 05 2018 4:20am
casainho wrote:
Oct 05 2018 12:31am
How to install TSDZ2 on Decatlhon RockRider 540 S full suspension bicycle

I bought new bicycle, this time a full suspension and it was cheap on Decatlhon for 500 euros. Thanks to the pictures/ideas shared by an user on how to fix TSDZ2 to the frame, I took the risk to buy this bicycle RockRider 540 S to install TSDZ2.

Also since the bicycle has hydraulic brakes, I had to use the type of sensor brakes as seem on the pictures.

I am sharing this images in the hope it can help others that want to install TSDZ2 on a bicycle with a similar frame.

Image
Hello casainho and everyone, I'm new on this forum as active user but I was a silent follower since 1yr ago, when I bought two TSDZ2 motors.
Last year I installed the motors on two city bikes, and I home made a brake cut off system with a magnet and a reed switch, very cheap and it worked out. I have the VLCD5 display so i wired one brake with 2 wires on one of the ports on the back of VLCD5.
If needed, more info on the italian forum where I posted a schematic and picts of the actual work.
https://www.emtb-mag.com/forum/threads/ ... post-54805
https://www.emtb-mag.com/forum/threads/ ... post-62469

In june I made the decision and I bought a KTM mtb 29" and I moved one motor on it, and I've recycled the brake cut off system. I had to adapt a bit the system since the city bike's brakes were wired while the MTB ones are hydraulic, so the "travel" of the lever was nearly zero at the magnet location.

Recently, after a careful review of jbalat videos, I convinced myself to give a try to the Open Source Firmware (compliments for the great work to casainho and all the active contributors) and I ordered the display KT-LCD3 plus the usb programmer.
While waiting I realized that there are not (as far as i can see) the ports on the back like the VLCD5 where I wired the brake cut off system.

Casainho, i saw in the last picture above you installed a brake sensor on hydraulic brakes and LCD3, could you please explain which cut off you used, and how you wired it into the display? Or just redirect me to a site with the instruction, then i can work it out myself.
Many thanks and, again, thanks for the great job!

Thineight
Read the wiki, where you can find the wiring of the cable for 6 and 8 wires cable that goes to LCD.
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and LCDs (KT-LCD3 and Bafang 850C color LCD).

If you like my work, you can consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

zappan   10 µW

10 µW
Posts: 6
Joined: Sep 27 2018 3:00am
Location: Sicilia

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by zappan » Oct 05 2018 7:29am

Sorry for my bad english is the son of the automatic translator, I have to ask two questions to who is using the software Casainho I installed the ver..0.12, I set the LCD3 Display, in the menu 1 - 0 - 18, 18A with 36V battery , the engine delivers max 570W value identical to that of the 16A configuration of the first, I also checked with Watts'Up, why? can you post your max power found?
Another question, I saw in the other post, that it is not easy to go back in the versions because often the eeprom remains dirty, a problem that I had when I had to go back to the ver. 0.13 not working, then I asked myself if I wanted to go back to the original software is it possible or should I buy another controller?

EndlessScream   100 µW

100 µW
Posts: 7
Joined: Aug 28 2018 12:59am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by EndlessScream » Oct 05 2018 7:35am

sulx wrote:
Oct 05 2018 1:10am
Had similar situation with speed sensor being only 4 wire. As RC hobbyist i had jst wires and plug sets available (e.g. https://hobbyking.com/en_us/jst-sh-serv ... s-set.html) and cut one wire and connected female plugs to other end.
I have made similar cable, because I did not want to cut the original cable and could not find a suitable connector. It is not a problem though. The actual problem is I do not know which pin is for which line (SWIM/RESET/5V/GND). I see you have connected 3 wires (SWIM, RESET and GND). How to provide the power for the microcontroller (without 5V line being connected to ST Link)? Is it enough to have battery connected to TSDZ2 or I should try to flash the firmware with TSDZ2 turned on?

sulx   10 µW

10 µW
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 05 2018 12:49am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by sulx » Oct 05 2018 7:44am

I did with battery connected and controller turned on. Was too lazy to add 5v wire =)

nbdriver   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 32
Joined: Jul 31 2015 4:38am
Location: Belgium

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by nbdriver » Oct 05 2018 9:10am

sulx wrote:
Oct 05 2018 1:10am
EndlessScream wrote:
Oct 01 2018 9:46am
I would like to flash my controller, but suprisingly my speed connector has only 4 pins (not 6), so I don't know how to connect ST Link (and I don't know if it is even possible this way).
I have measured voltage levels and I have identified 3 pins (ground, 6V for headlight and speed sensor input with pullup resistor to 5V).
Would it be possible program the controller using only ground pin and SWIM? I have read that connecting RESET pin (purple wire) is optional and power for the controller can be provided from the battery.
Had similar situation with speed sensor being only 4 wire. As RC hobbyist i had jst wires and plug sets available (e.g. https://hobbyking.com/en_us/jst-sh-serv ... s-set.html) and cut one wire and connected female plugs to other end.

Image
I'm going to make the same cable as i'm also in RC and have some of these wires lying around. Does someone have an image of the correct pinout between the Motor side speed sensor plug to the ST-Link programmer ?

Thank's

spiked   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 07 2018 10:20am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by spiked » Oct 05 2018 12:42pm

Is think this is what you're looking for?

https://github.com/hurzhurz/tsdz2/blob/ ... ramming.md

cascarabias   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 12
Joined: Sep 12 2018 3:42pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by cascarabias » Oct 05 2018 1:14pm

Hi, I've seen that the v.13 hex has been removed !! for serious problems .... I have installed this version and 200 kms without problem, problems are those of v.13hex? Should I change to v12 hex?
Thank you.

Bartman   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 37
Joined: Feb 11 2018 2:38pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Bartman » Oct 05 2018 1:15pm

EndlessCadence wrote:
Oct 03 2018 7:55am
Bartman wrote:
Oct 03 2018 7:39am
Does anyone have a .hex file of the original 36v Firmware for the TSDZ2 that they can send me ? Or know of another way to get the standard firmware back onto the motor ?

I stupidly did not save a copy and want to do some faultfinding/diagnostics using the standard firmware.

Thanks
I'm not sure but this could be the original firmware? https://github.com/hurzhurz/tsdz2/tree/master/firmware
Did never test it though.
That worked. Now up and running with VLCD5. Cheers.

casainho   100 MW

100 MW
Posts: 2661
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Oct 05 2018 1:20pm

cascarabias wrote:
Oct 05 2018 1:14pm
Hi, I've seen that the v.13 hex has been removed !! for serious problems .... I have installed this version and 200 kms without problem, problems are those of v.13hex? Should I change to v12 hex?
Thank you.
The files are still on github but we need to browse historic to get them -- here the link to V0.13:

https://github.com/OpenSource-EBike-fir ... _firmwares
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and LCDs (KT-LCD3 and Bafang 850C color LCD).

If you like my work, you can consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

EndlessCadence   100 W

100 W
Posts: 217
Joined: Aug 22 2018 4:31am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by EndlessCadence » Oct 05 2018 2:40pm

casainho wrote:
Oct 05 2018 1:20pm
cascarabias wrote:
Oct 05 2018 1:14pm
Hi, I've seen that the v.13 hex has been removed !! for serious problems .... I have installed this version and 200 kms without problem, problems are those of v.13hex? Should I change to v12 hex?
Thank you.
The files are still on github but we need to browse historic to get them -- here the link to V0.13:

https://github.com/OpenSource-EBike-fir ... _firmwares
Version 0.13.1 (bugfix) is released, see my signature below for the link. Tomorrow I will try to update the wiki accordingly, but very little was changed compared to v0.12.

To use the reset to factory defaults feature (it's no longer necessary to program the data memory!):
- Enter configuration menu 6
- Go to submenu 3
- Press the UP button 10 times, a counter on the display will be incremented anytime you do this
- The display will turn off
- Turn it on again and it will reset your configuration to the factory defaults!

Preferably follow this procedure for every upgrade of the firmware and directly after programming both the firmware of the controller and the display. But, for smaller bug fixes I'll try to prevent changes which require the configuration to be reset. Normally you can see this in the version number of the release, from now on the last number (e.g. x.x.3) will indicate whether it's a bug fix release.

Please use the dedicated forum topic for questions about the opensource TSDZ2 firmware.

EndlessCadence   100 W

100 W
Posts: 217
Joined: Aug 22 2018 4:31am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by EndlessCadence » Oct 05 2018 5:31pm

I have an annoying "click" with every pedal rotation, it's not very loud. I'm not sure if it relates to cadence or how hard I press on the pedals. I tightened the bolt of my crankarm and some bolts of the chainring spider but this didn't fix anything. I've noticed that some bolts of the chainring can be tightened as well but the nuts keep spinning. How do you guys fix this? I can't reach the nuts with the standard tool which I normally use for chainring nuts. My pedals are new.

User avatar
jbalat   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 522
Joined: Nov 10 2012 11:50pm
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by jbalat » Oct 05 2018 7:14pm

I would just make sure you have a piece of rubber between the frame and motor and motor is tight. The cranks can do this too I use a a metal tube on the Allen key to get more leverage. If you think it's the chainring then remove it with the spider after removing the crank. Use some Vaseline on the thread on the crank puller. Then tighten the chaining to the spider properly, you may need to make something up to stop the backs spinning.
Good luck and good work with the new release.

Btw sometimes you can get noises like that from your seat, seat post or suspension :(
Please subscribe to my Youtube home page for Quadcopters, FPV and Bike Rides http://www.youtube.com/jbalatutube
My build log here http://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewto ... =6&t=55352
For some cool ebike talk join us on The Best ebike https://www.facebook.com/groups/193581737807033/
Tech talk TSDZ2 Opensource firmware viewtopic.php?f=30&t=93818&start=150

tomtom50   10 W

10 W
Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 18 2018 10:09am

Cable Woes Bafang BBS cable not so great (8-pin TSDZ2)

Post by tomtom50 » Oct 05 2018 9:16pm

My plan was to use the Bafang BBS 1T4 cable with a Higo B8 cable to make a cable for the KT-LCD3
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=79788&start=3525#p1414964
B8-1.jpg
B8-1.jpg (57.5 KiB) Viewed 746 times
BBS 1T4 cable pic.jpg
BBS 1T4 cable pic.jpg (31.37 KiB) Viewed 746 times
Using the Higo B8 avoids messing with the motor cable connector so I can go back to stock. And the Bafang cable has waterproof connections for throttle and brakes.

The Higo B8 cable is fine, it fits into the TSDZ2 8-pin motor connector. But the 5-pin green connector is the wrong sex compared to the connector on the KT-LCD3.
KT-LCD3.jpg
Same 5-pin connector type, but male/male. The KT-LCD3 comes with an extension cable with the mating connector, and that cable mates with the Bafang BBS 1T4 connector.

So now it is two multi-wire splices to make the Bafang cable work, changing the sex of both the 8-pin and the 5-pin connectors. Not so neat after all.

Anyone have a better solution?

tomtom50   10 W

10 W
Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 18 2018 10:09am

Anyone know this cable harness?

Post by tomtom50 » Oct 05 2018 10:05pm

Thinking of using it to connect KT-LCD3
Unknown Bought.jpg
Would only have change 8-pin connector for KT-LCD3

nbdriver   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 32
Joined: Jul 31 2015 4:38am
Location: Belgium

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by nbdriver » Oct 06 2018 4:42am

spiked wrote:
Oct 05 2018 12:42pm
Is think this is what you're looking for?

https://github.com/hurzhurz/tsdz2/blob/ ... ramming.md
That was exactly what i was looking for, thank you. Motor with new firmware up and running.

thineight   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 14
Joined: Oct 05 2018 3:53am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by thineight » Oct 06 2018 7:41am

casainho wrote:
Oct 05 2018 6:59am
thineight wrote:
Oct 05 2018 4:20am
casainho wrote:
Oct 05 2018 12:31am
How to install TSDZ2 on Decatlhon RockRider 540 S full suspension bicycle

I bought new bicycle, this time a full suspension and it was cheap on Decatlhon for 500 euros. Thanks to the pictures/ideas shared by an user on how to fix TSDZ2 to the frame, I took the risk to buy this bicycle RockRider 540 S to install TSDZ2.

Also since the bicycle has hydraulic brakes, I had to use the type of sensor brakes as seem on the pictures.

I am sharing this images in the hope it can help others that want to install TSDZ2 on a bicycle with a similar frame.

Image
Casainho, i saw in the last picture above you installed a brake sensor on hydraulic brakes and LCD3, could you please explain which cut off you used, and how you wired it into the display? Or just redirect me to a site with the instruction, then i can work it out myself.
Many thanks and, again, thanks for the great job!

Thineight
Read the wiki, where you can find the wiring of the cable for 6 and 8 wires cable that goes to LCD.
Thanks, I read the wiki and i understood that two wires have to be routed inside the controller and soldered somewhere between GND and BRAKE wires. Did you run the cable by drilling a hole in the controller case or you sorted out somewhere else?
Any chance to get a picture/schematic of how you (or whoever installed brake cut off) did the actual work?

Thanks!
MTB KTM Ultra 29" - City bike DAYTONA 28"

sysrq   100 mW

100 mW
Posts: 47
Joined: May 07 2018 6:05pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by sysrq » Oct 06 2018 8:12am

Are there any blue nylon replacement gears with sufficient gear mesh engagement available? Heard in another thread this issue has not been approved/addressed by adequate amount of peer review so it's a bit too early to worry about. Or it requires complete redesign of the whole unit?

Crazymac680   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 07 2018 6:11am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Crazymac680 » Oct 07 2018 6:28am

Hi. Is the 500 and 750w version larger than the 250 and 350 versions? Would the 750w version give me worse bottom bracket clearance? Is it heavier or is it all software changes?
Thanks for any advice.

tomtom50   10 W

10 W
Posts: 96
Joined: Jun 18 2018 10:09am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by tomtom50 » Oct 07 2018 11:29am

Crazymac680 wrote:
Oct 07 2018 6:28am
Hi. Is the 500 and 750w version larger than the 250 and 350 versions? Would the 750w version give me worse bottom bracket clearance? Is it heavier or is it all software changes?
Thanks for any advice.
All TSDZ2 models are the same size and weight

500W and 750W hardware is the same, the only difference is firmware settings.

Going further, the controllers are the same for 36V, 48V, and 52V. The only difference in controllers is whether it is wired to support throttle or not.

No throttle - 6-pin
With throttle - 8-pin

And there are only two motors, 36V and 48/52V. The two motors have different windings so they spin about 4000 rpm at full battery voltage.

The simplest approach is to buy what you think you will use, but other than 36/48V motor any purchase error can be fixed if you are willing to fuss with firmware.

Mu unsolicited advice is to buy a unit with throttle. I did not even mount it on the bike, the torque sensor is that good. But it is nice to have for setup and adjustments.

cresny   10 µW

10 µW
Posts: 5
Joined: Feb 18 2018 6:06pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by cresny » Oct 07 2018 11:38am

EndlessCadence wrote:
Oct 05 2018 5:31pm
I have an annoying "click" with every pedal rotation, it's not very loud. I'm not sure if it relates to cadence or how hard I press on the pedals.
How worn are your chain and chaining? I noticed this sort of sound when my chainring was worn to sharp points. My guess is the regular tick on revolution is when the tip of a chainring tooth happens to meet the rod center of a chain pin, which then snaps down into the space in between teeth.

Crazymac680   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Oct 07 2018 6:11am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by Crazymac680 » Oct 07 2018 1:02pm

tomtom50 wrote:
Oct 07 2018 11:29am
Crazymac680 wrote:
Oct 07 2018 6:28am
Hi. Is the 500 and 750w version larger than the 250 and 350 versions? Would the 750w version give me worse bottom bracket clearance? Is it heavier or is it all software changes?
Thanks for any advice.
All TSDZ2 models are the same size and weight

500W and 750W hardware is the same, the only difference is firmware settings.

Going further, the controllers are the same for 36V, 48V, and 52V. The only difference in controllers is whether it is wired to support throttle or not.

No throttle - 6-pin
With throttle - 8-pin

And there are only two motors, 36V and 48/52V. The two motors have different windings so they spin about 4000 rpm at full battery voltage.

The simplest approach is to buy what you think you will use, but other than 36/48V motor any purchase error can be fixed if you are willing to fuss with firmware.

Mu unsolicited advice is to buy a unit with throttle. I did not even mount it on the bike, the torque sensor is that good. But it is nice to have for setup and adjustments.
Thanks so much the advice.
I feel like I've been googling and asking on Facebook pages for days.
I might as well get the 500w. I'm a tinkerer so happy to put some work in to add value.
Thanks

EndlessCadence   100 W

100 W
Posts: 217
Joined: Aug 22 2018 4:31am

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by EndlessCadence » Oct 07 2018 3:07pm

cresny wrote:
Oct 07 2018 11:38am
EndlessCadence wrote:
Oct 05 2018 5:31pm
I have an annoying "click" with every pedal rotation, it's not very loud. I'm not sure if it relates to cadence or how hard I press on the pedals.
How worn are your chain and chaining? I noticed this sort of sound when my chainring was worn to sharp points. My guess is the regular tick on revolution is when the tip of a chainring tooth happens to meet the rod center of a chain pin, which then snaps down into the space in between teeth.
Thanks for your help! Today I found out that the motor mount had moved and it has crushed my display cable. I think this caused the clicking sound as well. Cable is repaired but I didn't test if the noise is gone now.

I hope someone can help me with my lights circuit:
Because of the low maximum current of the TSDZ2's light output I wired an external solid state relay and DC-DC converter to power my lights. This works but it is inverted! I didn't know that NC (normally connected) solid state relays even existed and only saw them at high prices. But it looks like my relay is NC??
The lights turn on when I apply battery power, they turn off when I power on the lights using the LCD3 display. Confusing isn't it?

These are the parts I'm using:
- DC SSR: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/the-che ... 4c4dt0nLQ5
- DC-DC converter: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DC-24V- ... 4c4dt0nLQ5

casainho   100 MW

100 MW
Posts: 2661
Joined: Feb 14 2011 2:43pm

Re: New "TSDZ2 Torque Sensor Central Motor"

Post by casainho » Oct 07 2018 3:37pm

EndlessCadence wrote:
Oct 07 2018 3:07pm
cresny wrote:
Oct 07 2018 11:38am
EndlessCadence wrote:
Oct 05 2018 5:31pm
I have an annoying "click" with every pedal rotation, it's not very loud. I'm not sure if it relates to cadence or how hard I press on the pedals.
How worn are your chain and chaining? I noticed this sort of sound when my chainring was worn to sharp points. My guess is the regular tick on revolution is when the tip of a chainring tooth happens to meet the rod center of a chain pin, which then snaps down into the space in between teeth.
Thanks for your help! Today I found out that the motor mount had moved and it has crushed my display cable. I think this caused the clicking sound as well. Cable is repaired but I didn't test if the noise is gone now.

I hope someone can help me with my lights circuit:
Because of the low maximum current of the TSDZ2's light output I wired an external solid state relay and DC-DC converter to power my lights. This works but it is inverted! I didn't know that NC (normally connected) solid state relays even existed and only saw them at high prices. But it looks like my relay is NC??
The lights turn on when I apply battery power, they turn off when I power on the lights using the LCD3 display. Confusing isn't it?

These are the parts I'm using:
- DC SSR: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/the-che ... 4c4dt0nLQ5
- DC-DC converter: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/DC-24V- ... 4c4dt0nLQ5
Make LCD3 invert the state, with a configuration for that. I guess other users may have thesame need. Even good if you coild document ypmour build with pictures on wiki.
Developer of the Flexible OpenSource firmware for EBike motor controllers (TSDZ2 and KT) and LCDs (KT-LCD3 and Bafang 850C color LCD).

If you like my work, you can consider making a donation. I am being using the donations to buy needed resources for my developments. My paypal: casainho AT gmail.com.

Post Reply