TSDZ2 vs Bafang BBSO2

bowzette

10 µW
I've been looking at DD real wheel systems for a Catrike recumbent trike. I have no experience with e-assist motors but thirty years of riding road bikes. I think I want the responsive connectiveness of a torque sensor system. This got me looking at the TSDZ2. But I know the Bafang is well thought of and very popular. I was interested in the pros and cons of these two systems. I only need a 350 or 500 watt motor. I don't want to damage the trikes drive train. Is a gear senor necessary or at least wise and I assume available to connect with these systems? If the TSDZ2 has TS is a gear sensor even appropriate? I am use to shifting gears on my bikes am I likely to quickly get use to the Bafang system and not need a gear sensor? If the Bafang doesn't have a TS I assume it motors along at assist setting selected with motor watts remaining constant and increase in speed is from riders additional watts without the motor reacting to increase or decrease wattage. Is this correct? The TSDZ2 with TS at a specific assist setting will increase or decrease wattage responding to riders wattage. Is this correct? It seems to me-with no knowledge or experience-that a TS is needed to retain the feeling of riding a bike or trike versus riding a moped, scooter or motorcycle. Any input is useful. My assumptions may be off base.

You got it pretty right, bafang is a scooter, tsdz2 is still a bike with help.

I have both, now I prefer tsdz2 cause I need to pedal for exercise but lots of hills locally for old legs.

Marlin I see you also have a Magic Pie. I have been looking at these but it is my understanding with the Thun bb torque sensor no longer available the other bb TS don't work well on recumbents due to the difference in how torque is applied on a DF bike vs recumbent. If you have any knowledge to the contrary please let me know.