Hi just to make sure!! voltages, amps and watts

Chrisheuer

1 mW
Hi pretty much a newbie here, so when a rear internally geared 48 volt motor is rated at 500 watts it can be run at 1000 watts by running 22amps through it? Is that how you get a 1000 watt rear hub geared motor? Should I be checking NM rating? Wire Turns? I'm a big guy in a somewhat Hilly area.
So I am ready to buy :shock: and when I look I see Ebikeling , e Bike kit , grin tech , amazon, ebay and aliexpress. I'm leaning towards one of the first three that may be able to answer a question by email or over the phone.
Do the contollers vary a lot should I be concerned with this aspect of the system when I'm just getting started? thanks in advance.
:)

The motor will consume as much as it needs, up to the ability of the battery and controller to provide it (actually, there's a point where it can't take any more), so the ratings are more to do with the ability to run at that power level forever without overheating.

If you're in a hilly area, a lot has to do with if they hills are short in duration, and long. That's because a geared hub doesn't shed heat very well, so where the torque helps to climb a hill, if the climb is sustained, it will burn up the motor. You can play with the simulator to see what the effect of increasing the grade, changing the voltage and controller is on the motor. Here's a 750W geared hub, using a grade of 7%, using 15A and 25A controllers for comparison. 25A provides a lot more torque, and propels the bike faster up the hill. However, it will overheat in an hour. With the 15A controller, while slower, will never overheat. So, if you have long sustained climbs, you might want the lower powered controller (or go with direct or mid drive).

If your hills are steeper than 7%, just increase the grade and hit the simulate button (both overheat). On flat ground, they both have the same speed, since voltage, not power, is determining the speed, at least in this case.