How often do you test your charger?

E-HP

10 GW
I think a few folks have invested in good battery chargers for their packs, but I suspect a lot of us have just been using the cheap generic Chinese chargers that are sometimes included with a new battery pack. I've been using mine for about 3 years now, but it never occurred to me that it might need some occasional adjusting. During the last 6 months, after switching over to my current controller and cycle analyst, I noticed on a few occasions that the fully charged pack voltage was higher than 58.8V for my 52V pack. I don't charge to full very often, so I saw this happen during the last few times that I did. I had concluded at the time that my CA was reading voltage slightly high, and put the thought off for another day, thinking I would calibrate the CA.

This weekend, I charged to 100% to allow the pack to balance, and noticed the CA was reading 59.28V, so I got out my meter to measure it. Sure enough, the charger's voltage had drifted over time and was reading high. The CA was right. I took the charger apart and adjusted down the voltage to 58.8V. I checked the voltage a few times after assembly, cycling the charger on and off a few times and it remained at 58.8V. Anyway, it didn't occur to me that these cheap chargers could drift that much, but maybe something to check once in a while.

I routinely use a known accurate DMM to check on all charge sources, even those costing many hundreds of dollars can't be trusted more than a month or two at a stretch.

My 60A Sterling B2B being the one exception.

And an old TDKadjustable PSU, but that's a lab quality bit of kit cost thousands when new.

DMM on the charger connector is all I did for my Dell laptop chargers and Meanwell's. Never used generic chargers. Now I have a Cycle Satiator for my new battery.

My method is to use a CA V3 on the bike, an iPhone camera and excel to keep track of battery use and charge data and do the calculations.