Sabvoton controller help?

Eastwood

100 kW
Hello everyone!
First post here and I’m excited about joining this forum. There seems to be a lot of information on sabvoton controllers :) I’m fairly new to the E bike world as far as building E bikes. Everything is working great on my bike and I’ve learned so much info over the past several months.

I’ll get some specs before I ask my question.
I have a 1500w hub motor with a 48v 30ah 50aBMS.

So first off I would like to say how much I am loving this new controller over the cheap Chinese controller that came with this ebike kit. I gained over 10 mph on the top end without any boost or flux weakening. Also the acceleration is so much harder off the line where the stock controller felt similar to my 500W E bike off the line :lol: I can get up to speed much quicker now!! :D

So my first question is about flux weakening.,
Having a 50a BMS what is the maximum current I can use with the flux weakening?

My second question is how much boost can I use with this 50a BMS?

Both of these terms are new to me and I’ve been reading a lot on them but I’m just not clear on how much I can you safely with my limited BMS. I will be getting a 72 V battery with a higher be a mess but for now I will just be running the 48 V

I would greatly appreciate any feedback on those two questions, thank you in advance for any help!!

A BMS is safe by definition, because it will cut off power if you ask too much. So you can play with you controller settings without worrying about damaging the battery.

MadRhino said:
A BMS is safe by definition, because it will cut off power if you ask too much. So you can play with you controller settings without worrying about damaging the battery.