Motor/Battery Recommendations?

JacobLeSann

1 µW
Hey all, I’ve been in the process of building a velomobile for the past year and a half, and now that I’ve got more funds I’m thinking that I want to use an electric assist to pursue higher speeds. At the speeds I want, it really won’t be an exercise machine anymore, but I’d rather ride normal bicycles on my off-days for that purpose. The only problem is I have no experience with electronics; it’s quite literally like magic to me :). I’m willing to learn, though.

Here are the specifications I want:

-70-80 km/h max speed
-Highest range possible at 70-80 km/h; preferably at least more than 100km (it can be charged at both my workplaces and my grandma’s house in town, so a low range isn’t a deal breaker)
-20x1.50 wheels are what I’ve already built the frame for.
-Id prefer to use a rear wheel assist, which doesn’t need any brakes (it’s a tadpole trike)
-I’m 145-155 lbs (my weight fluctuates)
-I ride on flat prairie terrain with no wind coverage (I’m in Manitoba). There are no bike lanes and the pavement is absolute garbage. It’s 90% highway, with a short jaunt through town traffic, which I usually skip these days as the drivers are insane. Very little, if any, hills. The biggest obstacle is the wind, which can get up to 35-40 km/h sometimes. The wind has stunted my usual 45-50 min commute to over 2 hours sometimes, to give an idea.
-My budget is preferably lower than $2000, but I have saved $10,000. I’m only 20, though, so I need that money for my future.
-I want something that can handle cold, and any possible wet weather. The velomobile’s fairing should help quite a bit.
-I MUCH prefer quiet vehicles.
-At such speeds the pedals really won’t be useful, but I’d keep them in case the police somehow actually care. It would be cool to use them to charge the batteries for my extras (lights, signals, sound system, etc.)

I’m situated in Northern Manitoba, Canada, if that helps.