Not fast enough!

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
Post Reply
Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 3:32pm

Well I finally got my bike finished. Its a 5304 26" running at 72Volts. My top speed is around 47km/h and thats not enough for me!

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Nov 30 2010 3:39pm

Hi,

Something is strange here you top speed at 72 Volt should be something like 65 or 70 Km/h at least, are you sure that your CA is correctly set ? Without top speed limits because it can be the cause of this! For a test you can unplug it and try to go WOT again to see if the top seed remains the same at the eyes.

Good day!
Black Arrow

Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 4:14pm

The cycle analyst says max speed 99 km/h

torker   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1541
Joined: Oct 16 2008 8:46pm
Location: Udall, Ks.

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by torker » Nov 30 2010 4:16pm

Yep something is wrong. Got any wires too small/ getting hot? Ebike.ca simulator shows 83 km/h no load speed. Black Arrow is right on with 65+ km/h. Got any brakes dragging?
Dave When I die I want to slide in sideways yelling WooHoo what a ride !

Giant Rincon w rear 9C 6*10 10s Lipo 30+ amps
Specialized FSR Comp 9C 6*10 15s x 50A 3300 W :)
http://s18.photobucket.com/user/rolinfu ... t=3&page=1

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Nov 30 2010 4:19pm

Beavinator wrote:The cycle analyst says max speed 99 km/h


Yes but it's a direct plug in ?

Your number of poles is correctly set ?

If you unplug the CA your top speed seems faster or not ?

Black Arrow

Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 4:24pm

Yes its just as fast with the analyst plugged in. The 47km/h that I am getting is with the tire being held up off the ground. Its too snowy outside to ride the bike.

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Nov 30 2010 4:34pm

Beavinator wrote:Yes its just as fast with the analyst plugged in. The 47km/h that I am getting is with the tire being held up off the ground. Its too snowy outside to ride the bike.
With the tires off the ground (unload speed) your top speed should be something like 80 or 85 Km/h and may be higher. Did you have a small computer bike somewhere to get the reel speed of this ebike ? the diameter of your wheel is also set correctly in mm ?

This way you can do the test again with the CA unplug to see the result, i hope it's help!

Black Arrow

Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 4:50pm

When I give it full throttle with the wheel off the ground how many watts should be consumed? I believe it said 280.

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Nov 30 2010 5:06pm

Beavinator wrote:When I give it full throttle with the wheel off the ground how many watts should be consumed? I believe it said 280.
It seems ok with the wheel lift off the ground, the number of pole is 12 for your motor, i think that your diameter of the wheel is wrong something like a value for 20" rim or smaller rim.

Check the points i have identified later to see what is wrong with the CA, and i'm sure that will read the correct top speed when everything will be set correctly.

Black Arrow
Last edited by Ariane on Nov 30 2010 8:32pm, edited 1 time in total.

Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 5:12pm

OK I got er fixed!! It was the number of poles that was out. It now says 90km/h with wheel off.

torker   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1541
Joined: Oct 16 2008 8:46pm
Location: Udall, Ks.

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by torker » Nov 30 2010 5:51pm

Are u in NW Kansas? No snow here in South central. Glad you got it fixed.
Dave When I die I want to slide in sideways yelling WooHoo what a ride !

Giant Rincon w rear 9C 6*10 10s Lipo 30+ amps
Specialized FSR Comp 9C 6*10 15s x 50A 3300 W :)
http://s18.photobucket.com/user/rolinfu ... t=3&page=1

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Nov 30 2010 8:34pm

Beavinator wrote:OK I got er fixed!! It was the number of poles that was out. It now says 90km/h with wheel off.
Cool now you ready to ride :D

Good day!
Black Arrow

torker   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1541
Joined: Oct 16 2008 8:46pm
Location: Udall, Ks.

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by torker » Nov 30 2010 10:02pm

Sorry Beavinator, Did not mean to make you "nervous" asking where you were. :oops: :?
Dave When I die I want to slide in sideways yelling WooHoo what a ride !

Giant Rincon w rear 9C 6*10 10s Lipo 30+ amps
Specialized FSR Comp 9C 6*10 15s x 50A 3300 W :)
http://s18.photobucket.com/user/rolinfu ... t=3&page=1

Beavinator   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 362
Joined: Aug 17 2010 1:08pm

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Beavinator » Nov 30 2010 10:10pm

Im not nervous at all im in Vancouver BC. I live up on a mountain where its still snowy.

torker   1 MW

1 MW
Posts: 1541
Joined: Oct 16 2008 8:46pm
Location: Udall, Ks.

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by torker » Nov 30 2010 10:15pm

Oh sorry for some reason I thought you were in Ks. :oops: I am on pain pills after back surgery- sorry.. Brain fart :mrgreen:
Dave When I die I want to slide in sideways yelling WooHoo what a ride !

Giant Rincon w rear 9C 6*10 10s Lipo 30+ amps
Specialized FSR Comp 9C 6*10 15s x 50A 3300 W :)
http://s18.photobucket.com/user/rolinfu ... t=3&page=1

User avatar
MadRhino   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 5969
Joined: Sep 03 2010 5:28pm
Location: Montreal QC Canada

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by MadRhino » Dec 02 2010 2:34pm

I have the same motor, wheel size, and voltage. My bike does 76Kmph on flat pavement, much slower in the mountain. Still, it's not enough and it does not like climbing. I just received a new controller, will run 100v 50A with it. I plan 120v next spring with a 5306, to have more torque to climb while keeping a fair top speed. I like the 5304 on the street, will likely end up with 2 different bikes, for mountain and street use.
Make it fool-proof, and I will make a better fool.
Current bikes
Street: https://s20.postimg.org/ewrvugywt/Session_04_2015.jpg
Dirt: https://s20.postimg.org/lbqwr55ml/IMG_0157.jpg

User avatar
oldpiper   1 kW

1 kW
Posts: 425
Joined: Oct 27 2010 5:07pm
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by oldpiper » Dec 02 2010 2:41pm

MadRhino wrote: My bike does 76Kmph on flat pavement, ...
76,000 mph? Wow! That's what, 3X escape velocity! Call NASA now! How many kilovolts is your battery, anyway?

(Sorry, just having a little fun with you, no offense intended.)

Cameron
Schwinn StingRay OCC XL, front AmpedBikes DD hubmotor, 37V, 10 Ah Lipo

"If it jams-force it. If it breaks, it needed replacing anyway."
"Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you."

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Dec 02 2010 2:50pm

MadRhino wrote:I have the same motor, wheel size, and voltage. My bike does 76Kmph on flat pavement, much slower in the mountain. Still, it's not enough and it does not like climbing. I just received a new controller, will run 100v 50A with it. I plan 120v next spring with a 5306, to have more torque to climb while keeping a fair top speed. I like the 5304 on the street, will likely end up with 2 different bikes, for mountain and street use.
And i was thinking that i have fast ebike at 92 Km/h .... 76000 Mph wow :lol:

User avatar
MadRhino   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 5969
Joined: Sep 03 2010 5:28pm
Location: Montreal QC Canada

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by MadRhino » Dec 02 2010 3:06pm

BlackArrow wrote:
MadRhino wrote:I have the same motor, wheel size, and voltage. My bike does 76Kmph on flat pavement, much slower in the mountain. Still, it's not enough and it does not like climbing. I just received a new controller, will run 100v 50A with it. I plan 120v next spring with a 5306, to have more torque to climb while keeping a fair top speed. I like the 5304 on the street, will likely end up with 2 different bikes, for mountain and street use.
And i was thinking that i have fast ebike at 92 Km/h .... 76000 Mph wow :lol:
Hehe, I'll be happy to go 92, but 'till then, please don't make a laugh at my 76, or at my french keyboard on whitch the 'slash' character seems to have disapeared when I turned it to english. :oops:

By the way, I love your bike, BlackArrow. I'd be so happy to beat the rubber out of it in the mountain. :mrgreen:
Make it fool-proof, and I will make a better fool.
Current bikes
Street: https://s20.postimg.org/ewrvugywt/Session_04_2015.jpg
Dirt: https://s20.postimg.org/lbqwr55ml/IMG_0157.jpg

User avatar
Ariane   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 644
Joined: Jan 30 2010 9:17pm
Location: Val-d'Or QC

Re: Not fast enough!

Post by Ariane » Dec 02 2010 4:20pm

MadRhino wrote: Hehe, I'll be happy to go 92, but 'till then, please don't make a laugh at my 76, or at my french keyboard on whitch the 'slash' character seems to have disapeared when I turned it to english. :oops:

By the way, I love your bike, BlackArrow. I'd be so happy to beat the rubber out of it in the mountain. :mrgreen:
I have no doubt that you can do it with your X5304 and your 18 Fets controller with 100 amps battery current and 250 Amps phase current at 100 Volt (88 Volt nominal) with a Lipo pack i was using Konions battery pack with allot of voltage sag your set up is better than mine :wink:

Good day!
Black Arrow

Post Reply