How much rolling resistance is normal on X5 hub ?

curious

1 kW
Got my first 5304 hub. How much rolling resistance is normal for these ? I expected cogging but it has also quite a bit of steady resistance as if axle bearings were grossly overtightened. Certainly way more that I expected - when the bike is upside down and I stop turning pedals (by hand) the wheel stops in a fraction of a second. Is that normal or should I try to somehow adjust it ? No screeching or other ugly sounds, just very very tight.

its normal i think. i remember being initially disappointed with the resistance from my X5 compared to my last hub motor. but the X5 has no free wheel so it always has eddy currents slowing it when not powered up and connected to the controller. try disconnecting it from the controller and pedaling. this resistance should disappear when the motor is in use.

I have some experience with outrunner motor design from RC hobby. The eddy current loss is dependent on rpm and is almost absent at slow speed when I try to turn it by hand. The wheel is not connected to anything yet. A winding short will create that effect but I hope it is not the case :?. It really feels like there is some serious mechanical resistance either in the bearings or seals. Can it be adjusted somehow ?

That does sound a bit odd. Perhaps the bearings are tight and will loosen up with some use. The bearing seals have quite a bit of friction also. If there is no grinding sound, that's good. If there was a shorted winding, you would feel definite cogging when it turns.

Question for those who disassembled the hub - is there a way to loosen bearings a bit ? For example on a cheap department store bike you can loosen the bearing by turning the conical bearing nut 1/8 of a turn. Is there a way to do something similar on a hub axle ? If yes what tools do I need ?

Nope, its a sealed roller bearing, and a realy large one, too. Ebikes.ca has pictures of them.