Page 1 of 1

Question re Cycle Analyst (V2.3)

Posted: Feb 21 2014 5:24pm
by kiwipete
I have a MTB with a standard MAC kit with the 25A 6Fet controller.

I also recently purchased the Cycle Analyst V2.3 (also from cell_man) and I'm pretty happy with it.

One thing doesn't seem to be working properly though: I've set the CA Max Amps to limit the amp to 15A. Yet after a ride Ive seen AMax values of 19,20 and 22A. So it doesn't seem to be working.

Any ideas?

Re: Question re Cycle Analyst (V2.3)

Posted: Feb 21 2014 6:46pm
by captain387
The C.A. amp limit has a slight delay in cutting back the power. Anytime you need high current such as taking off from a dead stop or even when you try to accelerate quickly while moving the peak amps can go beyond the set point but will quickly return to the set parameters.

Re: Question re Cycle Analyst (V2.3)

Posted: Feb 22 2014 12:05pm
by teklektik
See the CA 2.3 Manual sections: 7.2, 7.3, 8.9, and possibly 8.11, 8.12.

Some overshoot is normal (yours seems acceptable), but excessive overshoot or 'hunting' may benefit from tweaking AGain and possibly ITermMin and ITermMax.

Re: Question re Cycle Analyst (V2.3)

Posted: Feb 23 2014 9:52am
by Wishes
captain387 wrote:The C.A. amp limit has a slight delay in cutting back the power. Anytime you need high current such as taking off from a dead stop or even when you try to accelerate quickly while moving the peak amps can go beyond the set point but will quickly return to the set parameters.
In the CA's settings, you can actually tweak that delay in response for the amp limiter. Reducing the delay can lower the overshoot . Mine is set to 39 amps and over shoots to 43 under specific situations. 15 amp to 22 amps seems a little high overshoot.

Wishes