New here

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
vadimash222
1 µW
1 µW

New here

Post by vadimash222 » Jun 15, 2014 7:32 pm

Hi people, im a noob here. I recently starter my research on converting my bike into electric and im not sure what to buy, but i want it to go 50-60 km/h. I will buy a mountain bike this week and i want to know if its better to buy one with dual suspension or single.

Thank you!

arkmundi
1 GW
1 GW

Re: New here

Post by arkmundi » Jun 15, 2014 7:51 pm

I recommend doing some research before you make a commit to any particular design, and take some time doing it. Do that by making a prodigious use of the search capability and read up on various builds. But yea, at those speeds its more like a motorcycle than a bicycle, so think how those are built, suspension & shock absorbers, tires, etc.

vadimash222
1 µW
1 µW

Post by vadimash222 » Jun 15, 2014 8:05 pm

Thank you, i will start with that!

e-biker
10 kW
10 kW

Post by e-biker » Jun 15, 2014 8:25 pm

Welcome to the Grin!
If you don't have it yet, you will get it as soon as you complete your first build! I am with arkmundi do a lot!! of research before you buy anything. Look at the build threads and get some ideals. It is easy to waste a lot of time and money building your first bike. Think about terrain and distance you will require and stay away from lead batteries.
Don't go crazy on ebay buying bunches of junk. list what you want in the
items wanted section of this forum and you will get the best price and help from the pro's on here. You made the right first step by asking questions! don't stop asking there is really no dumb questions for us noobies.
24 s 4P, lyen 18 fet,5304 clyte, double crown monster ft forks large steel currie mongoose 24 450 (- the currie ) frame dual hyd disc daily commuter.
24s 20" M/P 2 casted wheelie machine, everybody should have one!!

vadimash222
1 µW
1 µW

Post by vadimash222 » Jun 15, 2014 8:57 pm