Gary Fisher Joshua F3

Sameguy

10 µW
I have a Gary Fisher Joshua F3 that I would like to add a mid drive setup to. As you can see by the pic (not my actual bike but looks just like it)
the frame geometry poses some challenges as far as mounting the motor and where to put the battery. You can see the pivot for the rear suspension where the downtube meets the rear triangle is just above the crank. I'm not even sure where to start with trying to figure out what would fit and where it would go. I am completely new to the whole ebike world but think I have a budget somewhere in the neighborhood of $1k. Maybe this isn't reality but that's a rough starting point. Main use of this bike will be mountain riding, some trails but probably mostly rough forrest service and fire roads. I weigh about 180 and would like enough power to climb tough hills and go 30-50 miles without fear of running out of juice. Any help or pointing me in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. thank you in advance.

50cf74f2246ced84181be2971.jpg

I am not sure that frame is ideal for what you are wanting to do. No disc brake mounts and you will be forced to place a lot of battery weight in poor places if you want the range you want. Some times its best to sell the bike you have and then buy the right frame for your project. You will surely spend a few bucks on the project so make sure the frame is the right one for the job and the weight is in the right places. I am sure you can make it work but figure out ahead of time the cost of your components and best guess of where the weight will go before buying any components I would say.

That frame is not suitable for a e bike just because it was free or you pulled it out of the dumpster , you have to put the battery some were and it absolutely must have Hyd Disc brakes . You can buy a 2001 intense tracer frame off E bay makes a great E bike .