New Build Advice

seattleslow

1 µW
Hi everybody I've been trolling around the forum for the past two week learning and trying to figure out some of the info about e-bikes but I'm still finding myself unable to pull the trigger and was hoping I could get some advice. I have no prior knowledge of bikes but I tend to learn quickly enough, having taught myself to build computers a number of years ago. I'm based out of Seattle WA and I started biking in the past month as I don't have much time or motivation to get exercise otherwise due to hospital hours >12H. I live at the top of a very steep hill, about 250 feet high with a grade that I'm estimating about 10-15% for about .4 miles. So going to work is easy, I just ride my brakes down the hill then its flat the rest of the way to work. Getting back, however means that I hop off and walk it up the hill, which is just enough motivation to not want to do this every day. My total round trip distance is not bad, about 10 miles in total. My goal of converting to an e-bike is to make my life easy enough that I can stop driving my car almost entirely and really feel comfortable about biking everywhere. I initially was thinking of a hilltopper system based on the advertised ease of assembly but since I have an aluminum fork I wasn't willing to do a front mount due to the risks, even with a low watt motor and torque arms. Based on the climb I need to do, I'm thinking I need a geared motor rather than direct drive. So I've pretty much decided I want either a geared rear hub motor or a mid drive like the 8fun BBSO1/BBSO2. I wanted as stealthy of a kit as possible as I'll be locked outside for >12 hours every day. I'll be locking up pretty securely but I don't want to invest so much into the system that its crazy expensive to replace. This also means I want a battery and controller that I can easily disconnect from the bike and carry with me inside. I also am not particularly interested in messing with homebrew batteries, totally n