Need a reliable electric bike for daily commute to work! $4K

mlpokn

1 µW
Hey there guys,

I'm looking to invest in an electric bike as my primary transportation device! about 8 miles to work from home daily. Lunch break to my favorite restaurant 5 miles away every now and then and 8 miles back to home and that's all I need. ( I can of course charge the bike/batter at work ) I will admit that I'm not a bike pro. I'm primarily looking into this because it would be cheaper than a car in the long run? and I just like the idea of riding a bike to get around town. So I was looking for something reliable that I can just buy and forget and not worry about too much maintenance down the road.

I'm near Portland, OR. So I'm assuming if I need any major repairs or issues fixed, at least I'm sure I can find a shop to get it done since Portland is kinda like the bike capital. There are couple of electric bike stores in Portland but I'm not sure which bike to invest in? I'm not opposed to buying online also. Anyone here with experience buying online recommend a place for me to take a look at?

I'm on the shorter side at 5'4 and 137lbs. I would like to stay under $4000 ( lower the better of course but I hear you get what you pay for when it comes to electric bikes )

Any help regarding this would be awesome! Thank you

An ebike will definitely fit the bill for that type of commuting. Do you have a lot of hills? Do you want a bicycle speed around 20mph or more ? Do you want to build it yourself? I recommend this route if you have a nice bicycle already and want to electrify it.

Welcome to the forum. Are you willing to build the bike from a kit, or do you want a fully built bike?