Got an old A2B ultra motor for free. Is it worth fixing?

Hello. I'm new to electric bikes. The main use for us will be campgrounds. this bike was thrown in for free when I bought a like new pedego cruiser for $900. The a2b has sat for atleast a year.

Im going to consider the batteries shot, and the tires are bad. He also said you have to tap on the throttle sometimes to make it work. Other than that it was in good working order when he parked it.

what are some ideas for it? I'd like to make a a2beast project with it, but the cost and my skill may not let that happen. What would be needed to just get it going again? Or is it even worth fixing, considering it needs tires, battery, and possibly more?

Summary: free a2b ultra motor bike. It has a bad battery, tires, and throttle. What's the best, economical way to get it going again. And if the needed parts aren't outrageously priced, I'd like to upgrade for speed/range.

have a read through this, https://laebike.com/blogs/builds/73206085-a2b-metro-more-like-a2b-monster-6600w, and decide how much you could/ want to do...

edit: actually, watching the video, not sure I would want to be on a A2B at 50mph! :D

What do you mean is it worth fixing what are your alternatives exactly?

I wouldn't fix it I would sell it and do a build off a badass downhill bike but that's just me. Your needs may be different. If you just want a bike to mess around with and are mechanically skilled it could be well worth fixing.

The hub motor looks pretty big.

Probably everything you need to know in one or more of these threads:

https://endless-sphere.com/forums/search.php?keywords=a2b&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=titleonly&sk=t&sd=d&sr=topics&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search

AFAIK the Stromer also uses the same motor (with internal controller):
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/search.php?keywords=stromer&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=titleonly&sk=t&sd=d&sr=topics&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search

flat tire said: