My first +50mph e-bike

g4free

1 µW
Hey all

I am thinking of building my first e-bike. Any suggestions on what parts to be use would be greatly appreciated.

Max speed: +50mph
Range: +10 miles
Wheel size: 26"/27.5"
Brake type: disc
Rider weight: ¬80kg
Terrain: flat
Budget: £1000 - £2000
My location: Manchester, UK

First this:
I'm a Noob and I Wanna Go 50MPH

then these:
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/search.php?keywords=50mph&terms=all&author=&sc=1&sf=titleonly&sk=t&sd=d&sr=topics&st=0&ch=300&t=0&submit=Search

Hmm, I don't know you. Have you mastered the trick of laying down a motorcycle at 50 mph? If not,,,,

If you have, then you likely have the clothing for such activites. With the skinny bike tires, its really amazing how much easier it is to crash a 50 mph bike, vs a 50 mph motorcycle.

Depending on your skill set, Id suggest you practice the 30 mph crash a bit before going to the 50 mph one.

20mph crashes hurt when you're fat..
I'm still recovering, 4 years later.

Might wanna build something more conservative if you are not experienced.

See sig.

Bike frames and components are not so many that are making a safe ride at +50 mph. Of course you could build any cheap bike to ride 70 mph, but nobody with some brain would ride it at that speed. Easy to be able to say that your bike can do 50, but it is another story to actually do it safely and reliably on a daily basis.

45 mph and up, you need a stiff FS frame with quality components, and good wheels/tires to make a bike that will handle fine. Brakes especially, need to stop you short and neat to save your bones.

Do you really need to do 50 mph on a bicycle ? Do you understand that once you start going above 17 mph, the issues of drag result in major efficiency losses .

Stick with top speed of 30-35 mph, and I bet you will find you wont even use that top speed all the time and will be happy to cruise along near 20 mph, and enjoy the ride and the scenery.