Custom Stretch Cruiser Build - BBS02, 52V

jfoster

1 µW
Hello, I'm new to the eBike world and am planning my first build. This bike is based on something I saw out at Burning Man this year.

I'm building this bike to learn bicycle building skills and to have something cool for bike parties and to cruise around the city. I do hope to take it out to the burn next year. If it is as great as I think it will be, I'll probably follow up and build a commuter eBike as well.

For the frame I'm planning to use this 26" stretch piece shown at the bottom of this post.

Here is a link to a spreadsheet of the components list.

I'm planning to use a springer fork, with a disc brake bracket to put a hydraulic disc brake on the front. I'm hoping to have a local shop weld disc brake tabs on the back of the frame. I'm planning for the bike to be a single gear, although if the frame ends up accommodating an internal hub, I'd consider replacing the back wheel.

I chose the Bafang BBS02 as the middrive, after being so impressed with the performance of the bike I am basing this on. It did not hurt to find out in my own research that the BBS02 is held in high regard. I'm planning a 52V 13.5ah Shark Pack for the battery, both items I'm planning to purchase from Luna.

Some of the parts I picked in my list are kind of cheap, I am trying to keep the price down somewhat. But I don't want to pick something that is likely to fail. This is not for single track or hard riding, but I do want it to be reasonably reliable and safe enough to let my friends try it.

I have some tools, but have not gotten this deep into bike maintenance and am hoping to start my collection with this project. This includes my first bicycle repair stand.