Tandem Duel Electric Wheels

rockypro1

10 W
Hi All, new here,

I am just at the start of converting my 1930's BSA tandem road bike that I restored to hybrid Tandem. Now I am going to put a duel electric wheels on it. I will be using two Voilamart 48volt 250watt to 1000watt wheels first 1 still in the post, They are only cheap ones so hope they work I heard the controllers are not great. And Two 48volt batteries eek!. The thing I would like to ask is the rear electric wheel comes with an lcd screen dose this do the same or similar thing as a cycle analyst? Can I use both or do I just need the LCD, Or do I even need a cycle analyst. I have just ordered the Elec rear wheel, then I'll order the front and then 1 battery at a time, as money is tight, The warranty will be out by the time I get to run it on the first ordered items ah well that's life. I am going to buy a front Elec Voilamart 48volt wheel also as the wiring and amps etc will be the same. I am no expert that's why I'm trying to keep it simple and cost down as possible, Myself and my son are going half's on the parts. Cheers

Here's my Tandem: https://youtu.be/q-z4xvZcLd0
rockypro1 IRL

Thanks, It goes like a new bike, built to last. Hey wish I had some of Sheldon Brown's bikes.

The dropouts on the front don't look that big. Be sure they can take the 10mmx14mm motor axle. You will also need two torque arms to make the front motor safer.

I know two motors will look cool, but why do you want two motors when one 48v motor will do? Have you looked into a mid drive motor for the front bottom bracket. I don't know if it would fit, but it might be something to consider.

:D

And, if you are only using one hub motor at a time, the other one will cause drag, unless you are using geared hub motors.

You might find a bike that vintage has a frame that won't fit any modern wheels.