E-Bike speed upgrade. Is it possible?

owaishortus

100 µW
Well there are plenty of videos and articles on the internet, but I haven't practiced it by myself. Most of them uses the shunt break to increase the speed, but i am confused about it.

I am studying in China and this place is crawling with e-bikes, pretty cheap here. These comes in 24 to 96v (may be more) with different speeds. In smaller bikes (24-60v) speed is the major problem. The circuitry and controllers are almost the same for all. Controllers are very cheap here and its not a bad idea to experiment some. However, there is a button called 'speed increase', if that turned on, the speed might have a 5-10 km/hr increase.

I have just seen one of it (48v), and it was pretty much easier to deal with. I saw a shunt in there but was afraid that the circuit will smoke, because my bike was already going at 45 km/hr. The speed controller button and various other wires were disconnected (by a service person), due to that I had no speed issue.

But i am planning to get another used e-bike and do some experiments with that. Could you people kindly share your experiences with speed upgrades

You're in China, get a controller as big as you want and same with the hub motor. You can do over 100 kph easily with a QS205. No need to mess with small crap.

More amps, the shunt, increases power, but it never changes the max rpm of the motor without load. Speed might increase when you increase amps simply because the load on the motor in wind resistance requires more power. For example, 500w won't go much faster than 30 kph. So without changing volts, you might get some speed increase with more amps. But never more than that motors max rpm by voltage. More power does get you to that speed quicker, which is always good.