Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

General Discussion about electric bicycles.
Post Reply
naujasacc1   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 19 2018 5:26am

Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by naujasacc1 » Jul 19 2018 8:58am

Hi everyone, yesterday i had to to stop in the middle of road. Controller (sabvoton CVMC72150) started to show error with 30 blinks. My friend through phone tells me that it's throttle fault.

Next, sometimes just after turning on, bike gives RPM till max (but not rapidly). But most of time it just was showing fault. Program through pc sometime shows that throttle have 5V (from where? min 1.2V - max 4.69V), but tester doesn't. If controller not giving max rpm, throttle handle works like with cruise control (I don't have connected it).

After setting Hall angle - problem disappear. So yesterday before sleep i did 30km trip and it was OK. But this morning was same, I had to do Hall angle test again.

Question: where is a problem?

Yermommy   1 W

1 W
Posts: 55
Joined: Mar 17 2018 1:18pm

Re: Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by Yermommy » Jul 21 2018 4:35pm

What brand throttle are you using? If it ever suffered water damage it could be causing the sensors to fail.

User avatar
MadRhino   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 5479
Joined: Sep 03 2010 5:28pm
Location: Montreal QC Canada

Re: Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by MadRhino » Jul 22 2018 10:04am

Probably just a bad connection, broken weld, or wire cut
Make it fool-proof, and I will make a better fool.
Current bikes
Street: https://s20.postimg.org/ewrvugywt/Session_04_2015.jpg
Dirt: https://s20.postimg.org/lbqwr55ml/IMG_0157.jpg

HomeScape   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 24
Joined: Jun 23 2017 4:12pm

Re: Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by HomeScape » Jul 22 2018 11:14am

Are you sure that your min throttle is set correctly in the sabvoton settings? I remember from my controller that my throttle sometimes gave ~2 volts at the start, my min throttle was set to 1.5v or so. The controller would then jump in error mode on startup to avoid the bike shooting away by the false throttle signal.

Check your throttle voltage in the sabvoton app and set your min voltage +0.5, maybe this helps

naujasacc1   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 3
Joined: Jul 19 2018 5:26am

Re: Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by naujasacc1 » Sep 01 2018 7:24am

Home.. you was right, but, my voltage usually is 1,1-1,2v, but shows that is 2-5v.
Don't even know brand of it, but it's nothing with water, i tested with another throttle - same.
Before helped hall sensor test, but today i can't even do that.

Maybe there is mechnical problem inside controller?

User avatar
TommyCat   10 W

10 W
Posts: 94
Joined: Jan 22 2018 8:05pm
Location: North-west Illinois, USA

Re: Sabvoton throttle error (Error No. 30)

Post by TommyCat » Sep 01 2018 12:29pm

Since your showing higher than normal throttle output voltage with both throttles. And you trust that reading...(may want to check it independently) I'd check for proper ground on the controller throttle wiring harness. As a less that perfect ground to the hall sensor will result in a higher than normal output.
See my completed Magic Pie V5 rear hub E-Bike build Here!

Post Reply