new build noob

Ru14real

1 mW
New noob here, so be genital.

I am wanting to build a front wheel system, but I have a few questions here. I am look to buy this motor. Its the QS 205 35H V. I want to install it on the front forks, with a rack for the batteries above the wheel.

What kind of controller should I get with this motor? I really have no idea. A three speed system would be ok, I guess. 72V? What is the difference between brand names? What do you look for in a controller? I really have no idea here.

Batteries, How big should 4 or 5 brick be? Will they fit on the rack, mounted in the front? Do I really need 4 bricks, or could something smaller be better? Where would the bricks come from? Any links or recommendations?

Also I have heard that vibration is not good for the system. I guess its not good for any system, but the electronics in particular could be reduced, if possible. Would there be a difference in mounting the batteries, and controller in front or on the rear rack?

Ru14real said:
New noob here, so be genital.
I hope you mean "gentle". ;)

I am wanting to build a front wheel system, but I have a few questions here. I am look to buy this motor. Its the QS 205 35H V. I want to install it on the front forks, with a rack for the batteries above the wheel.
The more weight on the front end, especially that sits out over the wheel, the more it will affect steering, as it slows down the response time of you twisting the handlebars because of the extra inertia. The closer the weight is to the center of the pivot (line straight thru the steerer tube), the less of a problem that is. The further from that point, the worse the problem is.

With any front fork motor, I highly recommend a good torque arm on each side to secure the axle from rotating in the dropouts, which can break the dropouts and leave you laying on the ground some distance in front of the bike in a very bad mood.