Conversion to electric motorcycle

Dear ladies and fellows:
I have been working for a couple of months to see if I can figure out a way to convert a downhill bicycle into an electric cargo bike that the California DMV will license as an electric motorcycle that can go on the freeway. My vendor says he can hook me up with a Crystalyte Crown Motor with a 24 mosfet Infineon controller that will do 70 plus mph with a 150 volts. I can't find a battery that size but maybe I can hook up batteries in series that will equal that. The guy at Power velocity told me he thinks that it is foolish to use a heavy hub motor going that kind of speed because if you go through a pothole the inertia  will really throw you . So there are so so many things to consider to build such a bike technically. 
I think the technical stuff might be easier than the legal stuff.  The fellow from Power velocity also said that he's tried to get such a vehicle licensed and the DMV is very uncooperative. They say the bike has to have a motor and a clutch and their comment also is that the legality of riding on the freeway is between you and the policeman because it's really a gray area. I have to admit I had one highway patrolman on the phone one day and he was really scaring me.
I guess I must be a glutton for punishment. But one reason I'm a vegetarian is to lower my carbon footprint so this project is also part of that same alignment. I might end up giving up. Anyone have any thoughts or encouragement otherwise?
 thanks so much
bicyclemichaela

I'd say there are roughly two reasons you might want to dive into a project like that.

One is that the objective is something better than what you could buy.

The other is that you love doing stuff like this even if the outcome is trash, not acceptable to the authorities, kills you, etc.