Greentime controllers

Electric Motors and Controllers
User avatar
DUBRAVKO   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 05 2014 3:51am

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by DUBRAVKO » Jun 06 2017 1:27am

need help..

i have GREENTIME 15 Mosfets 48-84V 1500W 45Amax Dual mode Sensor/Sensorless Brushless DC Motor Controller

try to turn on but nothing..

connect power, phases, throttle, brake, regen switch is on and ignition cable is on,speed switch is on 100%

push throttle and nothing, try with self learning, motor is spinning aprox 10 sec and stop, push throttle and nothing

try with connected hall, same

put back sunwin controller with same chronology and everything works normal

is there something else to try? :(

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25101
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by amberwolf » Jun 06 2017 1:59am

Disconnect brake and retry.

Check that the brake's signal voltage changes when brake is applied

Check that throttle is getting power and that the signal line is changing as the throttle is moved.

Check that the voltage from teh throttle is actually reaching the PCB inside the controller (wire could be broken inside or even broken off the PCB, or soldered to the wrong pad on the PCB).

User avatar
DUBRAVKO   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 05 2014 3:51am

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by DUBRAVKO » Jun 06 2017 10:13am

Brakes are off, wire from throttle are ok, have 4.3v on connector and change when push throttle from 0 to 4.3v
Push throtle- nothing, motor is off
Check throtle wire, everythig is ok,try with another throttle and is same.
It is strange because when connect power,phases,throttle and ignition must work, rest are "functions"...

Than i connect regen orange wire with low brake and just tap brake, than i can just one push throtle and wheel is spinning, after that again nothing until i tap brake

:/

User avatar
methods   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4385
Joined: Aug 08 2008 12:08pm
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by methods » Jun 06 2017 10:58am

Sounds like the controller fluid is low.
There is no dip stick to test on the GreenTime controllers... so you have to just eyeball it. I would add 10cc's through one of the end caps.

I just use Blinker Fluid instead of that fancy stuff the Ebike shops sell.
O'Reilly brand is pretty good.
download.jpg
download.jpg (12.35 KiB) Viewed 2228 times
-methods
Increasing battery voltage and controller current limit will result in a non linear experience

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25101
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by amberwolf » Jun 06 2017 2:55pm

DUBRAVKO wrote:Brakes are off,
Is that just a visual check, or checking with a voltmeter to be sure the signal voltage changes when brake is applied?

Check throtle wire, everythig is ok
To be sure: does that mean you've opened up the controller, and verified the throttle wire all the way to the controller's board inside is ok? and it is soldered to the right spot in the controller? and it is getting the changing voltage at that spot in the controller?

Or did you just check the wire on the throttle itself?

Than i connect regen orange wire with low brake and just tap brake, than i can just one push throtle and wheel is spinning, after that again nothing until i tap brake
That is a different scenario than you specified before, and requires different troubleshooting steps.

It's possible that either the controller's MCU is damaged or mis-programmed, and you'd either need to reprogram it or replace the controller. Reprogramming might be as simple as using whatever software the vendor supplies with the controllers, along with a usb cable for it's programming connector, to change the settings to defaults. Or it might be something you have to send back to the vendor to do, if they don't supply the software.

User avatar
DUBRAVKO   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 05 2014 3:51am

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by DUBRAVKO » Jun 07 2017 12:47am

is that just a visual check, or checking with a voltmeter to be sure the signal voltage changes when brake is applied?
check with volmeter
To be sure: does that mean you've opened up the controller, and verified the throttle wire all the way to the controller's board inside is ok? and it is soldered to the right spot in the controller? and it is getting the changing voltage at that spot in the controller?

Or did you just check the wire on the throttle itself?
check with voltmeter on open controller

try again everything, everything looks normal inside, but is not working.. :(

i will put sunwin back and wait with seller..

User avatar
methods   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4385
Joined: Aug 08 2008 12:08pm
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by methods » Jun 07 2017 10:30am

Amberwolf has a lot of experience debugging.
What he is trying to get you to do is identify where you made an incorrect assumption.

My advice:

1) Disconnect EVERYTHING

2) Now go back and actually disconnect EVERYTHING... even that thing you are SURE is correct.

3) One part at a time.... very slowly and meticulously... measuring as you go... confirm the following:
3a) What input is this? Is this the correct documentation? What variants of the controller are there?
3b) What input is it expecting? 12V? Active Low? Where is it resting? How can I confirm?
3c) Hook that input up... or leave it off if at all possible.

Battery
Power switch
Throttle
Motor wires

I would leave all other things off - especially brakes or things that can cut throttle.

Double check
Triple check

99.996% of the time it is a simple assumption that APPEARED to be true early on (but actually was not) and follows you into next stage creating much wasted time.

-methods
Increasing battery voltage and controller current limit will result in a non linear experience

User avatar
DUBRAVKO   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 05 2014 3:51am

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by DUBRAVKO » Jun 07 2017 11:24am

Check 5 times very slowly :)
It is controller, not rocket :)
Put sunwin back..wait now seller about resend/refund..
Thanks for advice, :wink:

User avatar
methods   10 GW

10 GW
Posts: 4385
Joined: Aug 08 2008 12:08pm
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by methods » Jun 08 2017 1:38am

Bah... we learned nothing :(

I still think the fluid was just low.

-methods
Increasing battery voltage and controller current limit will result in a non linear experience

User avatar
DUBRAVKO   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 19
Joined: Feb 05 2014 3:51am

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by DUBRAVKO » Jun 08 2017 1:46am

methods wrote:Bah... we learned nothing :(

I still think the fluid was just low.

-methods
for this case nothing to learn, controller have warranty so i don't want to fix by myself :)

User avatar
stancecoke   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 896
Joined: Aug 02 2017 2:56pm

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by stancecoke » Sep 28 2017 6:24am

eugen wrote:found programming software
:mrgreen:
now small problem
if is anyone who can recompile program change language (English of course) and compile program again??
and here cannot upload it is too big (about 35Mb)
http://www.xcmmcu.com/salea.asp
but if is someone interested can send by email
Is there any proceed with this software? I tried to download it, but my baidu account wants to be confirmed by my phone, I get no SMS with the code....

Regards
stancecoke

ebike11   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 951
Joined: Nov 16 2013 8:01pm
Location: Korea

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by ebike11 » Nov 12 2017 9:30am

Has anyone connected the Cycle analyst to the greentime controller without any issues?
I noticed some greentime controllers have a 6 pin JST plug but i dont know if its a direct plug and play????

John in CR   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 13510
Joined: May 20 2008 12:58am
Location: Paradise

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by John in CR » Nov 20 2017 9:19pm

ebike11 wrote:
Nov 12 2017 9:30am
Has anyone connected the Cycle analyst to the greentime controller without any issues?
I noticed some greentime controllers have a 6 pin JST plug but i dont know if its a direct plug and play????
I did it without issue over 4 years ago. I don't use the throttle override wire, but hopefully by now they know to include the diode on that connection in the controller.

redmouse   1 mW

1 mW
Posts: 17
Joined: Aug 03 2017 7:16pm

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by redmouse » Feb 04 2018 2:13am

Hey guys, is it possible to get rid of this throttle ramp / lag on a Greentime controller? I opened it up and I don't see any programming port, so I assume I'm out of luck...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TwgRUF_1MtU

User avatar
jkaness   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 29
Joined: Sep 28 2011 12:41pm
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Contact:

Re: Greentime controllers, 3-speed switch

Post by jkaness » Feb 04 2018 12:16pm

I am using a Greentime controller, 48V-84V 1500W, on 48 volts with good results, including regenerative braking. Can anyone tell me exactly what is controlled by the three-speed options? Black to Blue = 50%, no connection = 100%, Black to Orange = 120%. Do these options control speed, power, or what? Just curious. And, does any kind of technical manual exist for this controller?

Details on my bike posted at http://www.jimkaness.com/engineering/2018ebike.pdf

Jacktak   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 30 2018 5:29pm

Greentime controller 5v gone

Post by Jacktak » Mar 31 2018 8:35am

Hey...

Need some help, after cleaning op the wires :oops: :oops:

I a using a GREENTIME 15 Mosfets 48-84V 1500W 45A.

I have been cleaning up the wires, cut the wrong once :oops: so the 5v to throttle and hall sensor is gone..

The purple one is the return from lock. so I think it´s the red one to be placed right. But where ??

IMG_20180330_232540.jpg
IMG_20180330_232540.jpg (100 KiB) Viewed 1212 times
IMG_20180330_232904.jpg
IMG_20180330_232904.jpg (71.7 KiB) Viewed 1212 times
IMG_20180330_233028.jpg
IMG_20180330_233028.jpg (66.31 KiB) Viewed 1212 times

markz   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 6135
Joined: Jan 09 2014 11:38pm
Location: Alberta Canada

Re: Greentime controllers

Post by markz » Jun 24 2018 7:28pm

I got a feeling the 48-84 is just whatever LVC they set, and we customers have to solder in a resistor, as mentioned a page back. No big deal, as I want to use 48V and 60V. For Cycle Analyst, their picture shows a CA plug, but you have to message them on Aliexpress if you want the connector. I emailed them about the CA and LVC for my order.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25101
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: Greentime controller 5v gone

Post by amberwolf » Jun 25 2018 2:19am

Jacktak wrote:
Mar 31 2018 8:35am
I have been cleaning up the wires, cut the wrong once :oops: so the 5v to throttle and hall sensor is gone.
Use any of the pads marked 5v. They all come from the same 5v regulator; you can check with your multimeter.

If instead you mean that the keyswitch / ignition line
no longer provides batery power to the lowvoltage power supply input, then you'd need to connect battery positive to whatever the pad is that is the input to that area of the board. That might be the VCC pad; don't know for sure. If there is no voltage at the VCC pad now, even when battery power is connected to the controller's main input, then you could disconnect power, then do a continuity test between VCC and the 5v pads. If there is no continuity, then you can try connecting battery power to the VCC pad, and see if 5v reappears.

Post Reply