How to wire up the easiest way? (Alltrax, Agni and Battery)

Hello, I thought its better to ask you guys for advice before I blow anything up :)

I found this build and it looks like they're not using a contactor:

evkart_rt_rear.jpg

I want to do the same. Reason is keeping it as simple, lightweight, less complicated and less "space consuming" (I don't know the word in english, I'm sure you know what I mean) as possible.

Do I need a contactor? Or can I switch my drive on and off just by connecting/disconnecting the Anderson-plug between my battery pack and the Alltrax?

Are there any risks other than [strike]not beeing able to turn the power off with a killswitch from the handelbar?[/strike]
Like sparks when I connect or disconnect the Anderson, or something like that?

Thanks

Edit: :idea: I forgot that I will still be able to turn the power off with a switch on the handlebar by the Alltrax "Key on" port.

Please tell me if it is a bad idea to run without the contactor.
I'm a noob with that stuff, so any any advice, general or specific, is very welcome.

Yes, there will normally be a (sometimes large) spark when you connect the battery to the controller because of the capacitors in the controller. This can be eliminated using a "precharge resistor".

However, a contactor would be better. The nature of a brushed motor controller means that it is possible for the controller to fail fully-on (motor shorted to battery). A contactor would allow you to stop the motor if this emergency should happen. If not, I would at least have a quick-release battery terminal that you can easily reach from the driver's seat.

That Kart looks very powerful - be safe!

Thanks Punx0r,
Good explanation!
Now I think I will keep the contatactor in my bike.

My contactor is a Tyco LEV200A5NAF.
I'm confused by the sticker on it that say's 24Vdc.
My Bike (2012 Zero X) had a converter for all the 12V stuff (lights speedometer etc.). I took all this stuff off the bike to save weight.