Scooter Hub Rusted Inside

dougsd

1 µW
Hello. I'm new to the world of electric scooters and purchased 2 used ones the other day. I was told they were new in 2011. One runs, the other I discovered got moisture inside the hub, and is not turning, and I accidentally cut the wire trying to open it. Can't find any info as to maker, other than everything is from China. These when sold new were named Crazy Cat Scooters, by a person near San Diego who has a FB posting, but won't return my calls or e mail for questions, and is no longer in business. He lists these as having 4-12 volt batteries, but each scooter has 2-12 volts at 12ah, and there is no room in the zippered cover for more. Controller indicates 48 volts. I'm not sure where to find a replacement hub, but I think it's a 350watt. Could I go higher? I did a charge on the running scooter, and I rode it up a fairly steep road, but several power lights darkened, until I leveled out, and then all power lights returned. The front weel spins a bit upon exceleration, so I'm mostly looking for longevity for a level ride. Any ideas are appreciated, as I've looked at some posts, and know there is a high level of knowledge here. thanks Doug

Attachments

• 4W3A0837Hub and tire #1.jpg
    4W3A0837Hub and tire #1.jpg
    442.9 KB · Views: 382
  • 4W3A0838Hub #2.jpg
    4W3A0838Hub #2.jpg
    498 KB · Views: 382
  • 4W3A0841Brake Name.jpg
    4W3A0841Brake Name.jpg
    506.8 KB · Views: 382
  • 4W3A0843Hub Closeup Green small.jpg
    4W3A0843Hub Closeup Green small.jpg
    405.3 KB · Views: 382
  • 4W3A0846Controller 48volt.jpg
    4W3A0846Controller 48volt.jpg
    248 KB · Views: 382
in my short time I have ascertained this. the controller is exactly that, your motor is only rated at a certain wattage, but probably will take more. The battery is simply a power source and it will 'sag' under load which is why you are seeing lights go out climbing hills.