New controller only by soldering...?

Electric Motors and Controllers
Post Reply
Daminionz   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 4
Joined: May 01 2018 1:41am

New controller only by soldering...?

Post by Daminionz » May 01 2018 1:06pm

Hello,

I've got quite the unique ebike over here and managed to fry it's controller... After doing some long research on the internet it became pretty clear to me - there's no chance of finding another one like that as it's just too custom.
I've looked into other controllers but majority of them have got 8wires for hub motors yet mine's got 9. I've seen some people on youtube just ignore the white wire that comes on 9pole hub motors yet I'm unsure if it's entirely legit? Anyone..?


https://imgur.com/a/diZg9xE

User avatar
eee291   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 723
Joined: Nov 05 2015 4:35pm
Location: Austria, Burgenland: Güssing

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by eee291 » May 01 2018 4:36pm

The 9th white wire is the temp sensor.

If you go with a controller that is similar in output (or a bit lower) as the old one, then you really shouldn't have any problems as long as you know where to connect those wires up to.

Daminionz   1 µW

1 µW
Posts: 4
Joined: May 01 2018 1:41am

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by Daminionz » May 02 2018 1:24pm

My battery's 48v 8.8.ah
And hub motor's 250w (rear 20'' x 4'' fat tire 135mm)

So I'm assuming the controller's gotta be 48v 250w , right? I mainly find all of them on web to be 48v 350w or 36v 250w . Which one should I prefer ?
Assuming I don't wanna risk burning my hub motor I'd reckon 36v 250w would make sense...? But just out of curiosity - what if I was to run 48v 350w controller in this setup, would I run the risk of frying everything on a steep hill while giving full power?

Thanks for reply!

User avatar
eee291   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 723
Joined: Nov 05 2015 4:35pm
Location: Austria, Burgenland: Güssing

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by eee291 » May 02 2018 3:52pm

Pretty much.

I once took a 250 Watt Bionx and pumped 750 Watts into it while riding a long uphill stretch (about 500 feet).
The Motor was insanely hot to the touch but it survived. I'm not saying your Motor could do the same. but as long as the hill isn't too long 350 Watt shouldn't be a problem.

The problem is that most Chinese sellers are underrating their controllers, so look for the amp rating on the pics or description and multiply that by the nominal battery voltage ie. 48V*7=336 Watts

And if you are paranoid you could always get the ones with the LCD where you can lower the amps.

docw009   10 kW

10 kW
Posts: 877
Joined: Aug 02 2015 7:43am
Location: Chicago area suburbs.

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by docw009 » May 06 2018 7:32pm

On BMSBattery's Q-series line and on some Bafang hub motors,the white wire is a speed sensor output. Often can be ignored, but is often useful for some controllers.

It can be hard to find controllers with your specific PAS, brakes, LCD connectors. Those are desireable for commercially sold ebikes, but rarely seen on the kit conversion market. You may get lucky. You would either have to buy the PAS, brakes, etc that come with the new controller, or splice your existing ones to the crappy connectors that come on many controllers. Can you get a replacement from the place that sold you the bike? WOrth paying a little extra. Not worth paying 2X-5X extra though.

You do have to find a controller compatible with your old display too, or buy a display with the new controller.

User avatar
amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW
Posts: 25686
Joined: Aug 17 2009 6:43am
Location: Phoenix, AZ, USA, Earth, Sol, Local Bubble, Orion Arm, Milky Way, Local Group
Contact:

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by amberwolf » May 07 2018 8:19am

fwiw, some of the geared hubs (like a Fusin I have here) have a separate wire for a wheel speed sensor built into the hub, that may use a 9th wire for that, since the motor halls only read motor speed not wheel speed.

So if you read pulses during wheel rotation out of that wire rather than a varying voltage with temperature, then thats what it is. Otherwise its probably a temperature sensor.

Valopallo   10 mW

10 mW
Posts: 33
Joined: May 29 2018 1:37pm

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by Valopallo » May 31 2018 8:09am

... also, If you haven't checked already, make sure that the white wire is actually used by your system by checking if the white wire is soldered to the controller pcb. I have a controller-motor cable with the white wire connected only to the motor, but cut at the controllers end.

User avatar
motomech   1 GW

1 GW
Posts: 3201
Joined: Sep 11 2010 12:21am
Location: Tucson Az.

Re: New controller only by soldering...?

Post by motomech » May 31 2018 10:30am

Here's a controller w/.basicly the same spec.s;
https://www.ebay.com/itm/36V-48V-250W14 ... 5h_WhckZlA
Motomech

'03 Rocky Mountain Edge 2WD 260 Q100H frt and Ezee V1 rear 2 Elifebike 20A & 25A 9-FET controllers 12S/10Ah Multistar Lipo rear 4Ah Turnigy frt Luna Cyclops Extra lite Alex 24DM rims, Crazy Bobs run ghetto tubeless. 25 mph. Mean Well HLG-320H-54A
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewt ... =3&t=83430
'07 GT Idive 4 4.0, Q100C 201 14S LiPoly elifebike 9-FET 20A controller. 23 MPH.
https://endless-sphere.com/forums/viewt ... 4#p1378484

Post Reply