How many of you really use the wiki?

Things related to the E-S Wiki
neptronix   100 GW

100 GW

How many of you really use the wiki?

Post by neptronix » Jun 25 2018 11:48am

Hi all.
The wiki has been a major headache for me in the last year. Just a few months ago, i had to manually reconstruct some database tables because wikimedia's database upgrader had so many bugs, it wouldn't run. Being a php programmer, i tried fixing wikimedia's code, but it was just way too borked up to salvage. So i spent ~5 hours fixing the database by hand.

And just a few days ago, someone was attacking the wiki and managed to lock up the server into a constant apache restart loop. When i disabled the wiki, the system was finally stable again and the load on our server is now down to 1/10th of what it was on average, ever since!
2018-06-25 09_12_39-EC2 Management Console.png
2018-06-25 09_12_39-EC2 Management Console.png (51.66 KiB) Viewed 2804 times
This was due to a vulnerability in their code that has only recently been patched.
I made a quick attempt to install the updated wiki software, but it looks like the attack corrupted the data, and i wondered if it would be worth the effort to reconstruct things.

From my logs, it seems like the main users of the wiki are bots trying to attack it :lol: ... so i'm trying to gauge if it is even worth it to continue with this software.

So what i'm asking.. is how important is the wiki to you guys?
My first major build: 8T MAC motor on a Trek 4500.
The new all-arounder: Leafmotor 1500w on a Turner O2 full suspension.
The wheelie machine: 20" Rear Magic Pie II on a Trek 4300 MTB

"The best time to plant a tree was 20 years ago. The second best time is now."- Chinese Proverb

Icewrench   10 kW

10 kW

Re: How many of you really use the wiki?

Post by Icewrench » Jun 25 2018 12:10pm

The wiki is not something i even look at.
So not important at all.

amberwolf   100 GW

100 GW